First Things First

December 30, 2015

celebrate-jesus-crimsonjpg

Scripture

Seeing their faith, Jesus said to the man, “Young man, your sins are forgiven.”

~Luke 5:20, NLT

Quote

Everything begins with the right priorities, and right priorities begins with a relationship to Christ.

~Woodrow Kroll

my-thoughts-red

Jesus was in Capernaum teaching in one of the homes when a crowd gathered, jamming the entrance of the house so no one could get in or out. They brought a paraplegic to him, carried by four friends. When they weren’t able to get in because of the crowd, they removed part of the roof and lowered the paraplegic, on his stretcher, right in front of Jesus. Impressed by their faith, Jesus said to the paralyzed man, “My child, your sins are forgiven.”

The man was paralyzed and his friends brought him to Jesus to be healed of his physical infirmity. Jesus shocked everyone in the room by saying, “My child, your sins are forgiven.” Later, Jesus will say, “Stand up, pick up your mat, and go home!” Practically everyone in the building knew that Jesus was a Healer; what they didn’t realize was that Jesus was God and had the power to forgive sins.

Every one wants health and wealth. The masses love the free fish and hush puppies but spiritual things are not a priority, at least to us but to Jesus, forgiveness of sin comes before the healing of the body.

extra1_0

  • I have divided the extra: Church and sick folks are first, my personal thing that most of you will not want to read is at the bottom. I would read it if I were you.
  • SCHEDULE: We had some confusion about the schedule last Sunday and we would like to avoid that if possible this week. No deacons meeting or PM service January 3 but we do have LCBS at 9:15 and worship at 10:15 with donuts and biscuits. Actually, our donut store in Hartselle was closed last Sunday. I think we are getting a new Krispy Kreme in Decatur. We are taking the two Sunday nights off so that workers can have a break. Our AWANA Nursery workers [2 hours every Sunday night] will be going from January 10-March 20th without a break.
  • Joe David did hospital visitation yesterday; Lord willing, I will be going today. Gary Garner is better but keeps falling. Cory thinks he may come home today. Gary can have company.
  • I thing Patrick [Fuzz] Dobbins is doing better also but Ben Blankenship’s dad is in serious condition.

Happy New Year 2016

  • My off time is flying by: I can’t get a lot down for going to doctors. With June’s help, we did get some of our to do list completed yesterday. We ordered my office building [12X16] which will be delivered in the middle of January. I have to add the porch, wire, plumb and finish the inside which will take me months. My goal is to have it finished by August.
  • I met my new doctor {Harrison} yesterday. I walked in with my Alabama shirt on and the nurses starting staring: I said, “What?” They said, “Dr. Harrison is an Auburn graduate and fan.” I said, “I’m not a cow, I want to see a doctor who treats humans.” Everyone chuckled but June. Hey, I like the guy. He is not Joe David’s age, he is closer to Seth’s. He walked in and I said, “What are you, twenty-three?” He said, “I will be my next birthday.” I asked him about his medical degree. He went to med school in Philadelphia, not Mississippi. Big Mama really likes him. Come to find out, he is Larry Garner’s doctor.

Gary, Keri and Kane