Living Dead!

December 28, 2015

celebrate-jesus-crimsonjpg

Scripture

I have been crucified with Christ; and it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself up for me.

~Galatians 2:20

Quote

“Live like you are dying or else you will die like your living.”

~Michael Mason

my-thoughts-red

Paul said, “I am crucified with Christ,” which means he is dead, right? Then he says ‘BUT,’ “I am alive because Christ lives in me.” Which is he, dead or alive? He is both. He is a living dead man: living dead to self and alive to Christ. This is what I call a Divine Paradox. It is a contradiction to the natural man but to those of us who are saved, it makes perfect sense.

  • The major creeks like Flint continue to rise. No Business [Creek] has no place to empty because flint is backed up. The water is running over the bridge between Rocky Ford and Ironman. We came out Danville Road about 8:00 PM last night and conditions were good. Several houses in West Hartselle are flooded and water is still rising. Our neighbor, Polly James has about a foot or less before its in her front door. A lot of people are displaced due to the flood.
  • Gary Garner’s blood counts are back to normal but he is extremely week. He needs to eat. Pray that he will have an appetite.
  • Patrick Dobbins {Fuzz} is also in DMCH {Decatur Morgan County Hospital} formerly Decatur General.
  • Great service at DBC yesterday: Mike delivered an excellent message and the offering was very encouraging. Mike was pleased and sent a prompt thank you note. I am very proud of you church. Anyone who wants to know the exact amount, check the calendar in the teller’s office. As a courtesy to Mike, I’m not going to post the amount but DBC, you did good and you are to be commended.
  • Guess what we did again: we Commissioned Haley Rae and I don’t think anyone got a picture. She is off to Guatemala some time next week.
  • I really need to make a statement to the entire church: June and I are deeply appreciative of your kindness and generosity this CHRISTMAS. In my 42 years of pastoring churches, I have never seen anything like it. At one time, June was up to $400 in CB gift cards. Counting what my friends gave, we will be able to order my office building for retirement. I gave away all that was given to me but June got a hold of most of the cards and saved it for my building. If she had not intervened, it would probably be gone. So I want to thank you and June. Out of fear of saying too much, let me state the obvious–God is infinitely better to me than I deserve.

Gary, Keri and Kane