Marks Of A Good Servant

December 6, 2015

celebrate-jesus-crimsonjpg

Scripture

 “O Lord, God of my master, Abraham,” he prayed. “Please give me success today, and show unfailing love to my master, Abraham.”

~Genesis 24:12, NLT

Quote

A servant of God has but one Master. It ill becomes the servant to seek riches, greatness or honor in that world where his LORD was poor, rejected and despised.

~George Mueller

my-thoughts-red

Abraham’s most exalted servant was Eliezer from Damascus. Abraham trusted Eliezer with his life. Abraham sent him on a mission to find Isaac a wife. Isaac was extremely introverted and still grieving the death of his mother. The scripture above is Eliezer’s prayer before departing on this very important mission. We see in Eliezer’s life the characteristics of a good servant.

  1. He listened to his masters instructions.
  2. He obeyed his masters instructions.
  3. He prayed before He began the mission and while he was on the mission.
  4. He always puts his master’s business first. He refuses to take time off, or to enjoy himself, till he has carried out his master’s instructions.
  5. He refuses to be distracted. He was focused on his purpose and he would not turn to the right or the left.

merry christmas 2

  • A normal schedule today for the first time in a while and the last time in a while: Deacons at 8:15, Donuts and bisquits at 9:00, LCBS at 9:15, Celebrate Jesus in worship at 10:15. PM, AWANA at 5:30, Visitation at 5:30, and evening worship at 6:15.
  • We had a great time with the GOLDEN GIRLS and Senior Adults yesterday. It must be due to my age but I am enjoying these opportunities for fellowship more than ever.
  • Our Baptism today is iffy. Charles Floyd is ready but they were not at home yesterday and so I really don’t know. We will play it by ear. The water is ready.
  • We need some strong men to show up 8:45 and help David restore the stage.
  • Remember, David Wood is trying to get interest in a prayer time to pray before our worship service. There is a sign up sheet in the foyer.
  • I think we are sponsoring 13 children for Christmas: I want to thank you for what you do for others at Christmas.
  • Buford Burgess had a better night. I didn’t talk with Gary yesterday or Noah. I am assuming everyone is doing about the same or improving. Mrs. Lewis is very low. Ben Blankenship’s dad is at DGH, I am not positive about the diagnosis but I think it is very serious. Our Nephew Heath has surgery December 15. They will be going into the back of his brain. They say it is a common surgery but when you mention brain or heart, it is serious to me.

Gary, Keri and Kane