Family

December 22, 2015

celebrate-jesus-crimsonjpg

Scripture

And they came with haste and found Mary and Joseph, and the Babe lying in a manger.

~Luke 2:16

Quote

FAMILY: we may not have it all together but together, we have it all.

~Image Quotes

my-thoughts-red

Same verse as yesterday, so what is going on? I have highlighted three words: Mary, Joseph and the Babe, what do these three constitute? It’s easy, a FAMILY I truly believe that ‘Family’ is a Christmas word.

I met a wonderful family yesterday, Pic, Mandy and Maeleigh. They are excited about Christmas. Maeleigh wants a horse. She and I got excited just talking about Christmas.

On the way home from Seth’s Surgery, I got to thinking about children and Christmas and I have a thought I want to share on this subject. When I was Maeleigh’s age, I got a stocking on Christmas morn with oranges, apples, tangerines, mixed nuts–including English Walnuts that I never cared for–some candy that it is not politically correct to talk about but no candy bars or surprises in the stockings. We always got at least one toy, sometimes two and then some clothes. I wanted all toys and no clothes and I complained about Santa’s taste more than once. Mother always said, “He brings you what you need, not what you want.” Wow, ole St. Nick has really changed over the years.

We have sponsored children getting more for Christmas than I got my entire childhood BUT my generation had something that few children have today–FAMILY. I was with my mother and daddy every Christmas until my Father was promoted. We always had plenty to eat and we were always together except for the two years Hal served our country in Germany. At our last Christmas in 1994, we have 56 spend the night with mother and daddy.

Let me ask you a heart breaking question: how many children can you name who will spend the night {Christmas Eve} with their biological mom and dad? Joe David has about 60 in his YOUTH group when they all show up. You will find this hard to believe: 80% of those youth will not be spending Christmas Eve night or Christmas Day with their biological family.

Those of us who grew up in the 50’s were rich and did not know it. Today children get toys and electronic gadgets but what they really need and want is a loving FAMILY.

merry christmas 2

  • In my world, you never know what a day will bring. I went to the office yesterday for some quiet reflection and study; I had got in my seat good until I got the phone call about Seth’s accident which could have been worse. No weight on his foot for two weeks and no work for three months. June and I got home about 10:30 and I’m posting right at midnight so there will not be a lot of extra.

Gary, Keri and Kane