Giving, Giving, Giving

December 26, 2015

celebrate-jesus-crimsonjpg

Scripture

Give, and you will receive. Your gift will return to you in full—pressed down, shaken together to make room for more, running over, and poured into your lap. The amount you give will determine the amount you get back.

~Luke 6:38, NLT

Quote

Only by giving can one increase their capacity for receiving.

~Anonymous

my-thoughts-red

A recent survey concluded that 97% of professing Christians in American do not believe the above verse or quote. It is probably safe to say, 85% or more of Baptist don’t believe the above verse and quote.

A man was complaining to his pastor, “It’s getting to be one continuous give, give, give.” I’m sure he was making reference to the pastor’s sermons, the mission offerings and such. The pastor had a brilliant come back: “You know,” the pastor said, “You just gave me the best definition of a Christian that I’ve ever heard.” I wasn’t there, but I imagine the old tight wad grunted and then walked away.

Father, grant us the spirit of Christ. Teach us the joy of giving. In Jesus name we pray. Amen!

extra1_0

  • Pat Halbrooks was promoted yesterday around noon I think. This is Mandy and Nicki’s father [the girls that ran Pig Stand]. He ask Joe David a few weeks back not to pray for him to live. He said, “I am ready to go home.” Thank you Lord for hearing Pat’s prayer and thank You that his bags were packed. Bless the family.
  • I know some of you, like Michael Penney, did not have as good of a Christmas as you had hoped for: I think his clinic flooded. I have a heart for those who were hurting or suffered misfortune yesterday but I was so relieved when I got word that Gary Garner was better. It made my day better. I love good news.
  • I remember July 4th 2013 so well. I was under a shed smoking chickens. It rained for 3-4 hours hard and Ray’s pasture flooded over Rocky Ford road and was a couple of inches deep across the Lawrence County Speed Way [also known as Ironman Road]. I never dreamed it could happen again and on CHRISTMAS to boot. I love rain and if I had been 20 years younger I would have floated a creek. Unfortunately, what I enjoyed is going to be a problem to some. It has already been a problem to some. We will not be able to use the bathrooms at Gregg’s grocery [Holiday Inn South is what Bobby Sandlin called it]for a month and ours will be a close second.
  • I want to thank Ken Blackwood for reposting a thought from the blog. Doesn’t happen much but I always appreciate it when it does.
  • The Electronic CHRISTMAS CARDS are fantastic. The Bailey’s would have done one had we thought about. I think it is a great idea. I loved them all. It’s the wave of the future. The Post Office will pass away with the Baby Boomers.

Gary, Keri and Kane