Christmas Joy

December 19, 2015

celebrate-jesus-crimsonjpg

Scripture

Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction and faithful in prayer.

Romans 12:12, NIV

Quote

Joy is the infallible sign of the presence of God.”

~Pierre Teilhard de Chardin

my-thoughts-red

I saw the above verse on a Guidepost calendar today. It seemed so fresh, it was like I had never seen it before. It took me a few minutes to find out what translation it was from. It is the NIV and I love it. Notice the phrase, “Be joyful in hope.”  Joy is most definitely a CHRISTMAS WORD.

  • Matthew 2:10– When they saw the star, they rejoiced with exceedingly great joy.
  • Luke 1:44–When I heard your greeting, the baby in my womb jumped for joy.
  • Luke 2:10– “Don’t be afraid!” the Angel said. “I bring you good news that will bring great joy to all people.”
  • Luke 2:34–“This child {Jesus} is destined to cause many in Israel to fall, but he will be a joy to many others. He has been sent as a sign from God, but many will oppose him.”

I suppose Matthew 2:10 in the NKJV says it best...When they saw the star, they rejoiced with exceeding great joy. In other words, they were completely overwhelmed by joy. The joy in the wise men erupted like an artesian well and it was overwhelming: they were captured, enraptured and dominated by joy. It took control of their emotions, they mind and their body. Their joy was visible and vibrant. It could not be covered or denied.

Do we see that kind of JOY in our worship? Most Baptist look miserable in worship. Their expression says…Do I have to be here?…This is painful I am boredI’m not interested, so shut up and let us go home.

Isn’t it sad that most professed believers do not understand that Joy is the serious business of heaven. I borrowed that last thought from Jack, {Clive Staples Lewis} who’s nick name was Jack. If I had a name like Clive Staples, it would be a joy to be called Jack. Amen!

merry christmas 2

  • Gary Garner has already had his 5th treatment. I thought they were going to give him the holidays off but they didn’t. He will not be able to have company this weekend. In three weeks, he will have his 6th and final treatment we pray.
  • Buford Burgess had one bad night and day this week but he was feeling a tad bit better yesterday. I made a new friend, Buford’s great grand son Elijah. He did some stand up comedy for me. I got a chuckle but I don’t think his grandmother or great grandmother were that entertained. Kids didn’t make Christmas but it was made for them. I would never want a Christmas without kids. Someone gave Buford a singing Turkey. The bird is hilarious.
  • Our readership has been down for a while; for some reason, I cannot post it to Tweeter and Facebook with the one click as I was able to do for some years. It’s time consuming to do them one at a time and I just don’t go to the trouble. I know those who really want to read the devotion will find it. It is simple to find. I think this is one factor, there are probably others. It takes more time than I have to produce a good devotion. We have about 35 solid readers and I appreciate everyone of them. I’ve thought seriously about giving it up lately but it has nothing to do with the drop in readers. Sometimes, a lot lately, I feel overwhelmed by my own sins and transgressions and I fell unqualified to write a blog. I just want you to know I appreciate you and I wish I knew more about computers. I am horrible about responding to comments.
  • I got to ranting last night so I will try to keep this one short but I am going to share with you and email from Bobby Stork and dedicate it to our Marine grand son [Jonathan Seth Fagan].

Gary, Keri and Kane

TWO TERRIORIST AND ONE MARINE

Two Terrorists boarded a flight out of London. One took a window seat and the other sat next to him in the middle seat. Just before takeoff, a U.S. Marine sat down in the aisle seat. He took it upon himself to make sure these two did not become a problem. After takeoff the Marine unlaced his boots and kicked them off, he wiggled his toes and was settling in for some serious rest when the terrorist in the window seat said “I need to get up and get a coke.” “Don’t get up,” said the Marine, “stay in your seat. ‘I’m in the aisle seat, I’ll get it for you.” As soon as he left one of the terrorist picked up the Marines boot and spat in it and mumbles ‘stupid infidel.’ When the Marine returned with the coke, the other terrorist said, “That looks good.  I’d really like one too.” Again, the Marine said, “don’t get up, I will get it for you,” and he gets the second terrorist a coke. While he was gone the other terrorist picked up the Marines other boot and spat in it saying, “Dumb American swine.” When the Marine returned, he sat back and enjoyed the flight. As the plane was landing the Marine slipped his feet into his boots and knew immediately what had happened. He leaned over and asked his Muslim neighbors,  “Why does it have to be this way? How long must this go on? This fighting between our nations…This hatred…This  animosity… This spitting in shoes and urinating in cokes?”  

  • THE  FEW. THE PROUD. THE CHOSEN.

  • Simper Fi