Real Discipleship

March 9, 2013


MyHope coming November 2013

SCRIPTURE: Go therefore and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I commanded you; and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.  [Matthew 28:19-20, NASB]

QUOTE: True discipleship is not knowledge of all Jesus commanded but obedience to all that Jesus commanded. ~Michael Kelley

COMMENTARY: What a difference that one word “Observe” makes. Teaching the commandments of Jesus is one aspect of our ministry but it is only part of the process. True discipleship involves both information and application. As a middle teenager, I tried to witness to a friend and failed miserably. This failure knocked the spiritual wind out of my soul and muted my testimony for a year or more. My pastor, Calvin C. Inman, was a personal soul winner and he preached on witnessing constantly. One Sunday Bro. Inman was preaching on the parable of the barren fig tree in Luke 13:6-9 and I got so convicted that I went forward. I told Bro. “I want to learn to witness, would you be willing to teach me?” He agreed but I had no idea that he was going to begin the process immediately. He called me an hour or two later and said, “I have some visits to make this evening, do you want to go with me?” I did not want to say yes but I was ashamed to say no, so I got ready and he picked me up. [The rest of the story is in My Stories]. I don’t know how many times I went visiting with Bro. Inman but I do know that he taught me how to share my faith. He was a real disciple maker. Teaching is important but practical obedience is equally important.

EXTRA: We are in the middle of the REAL MEN’S RETREAT at Elk River Lodge in Limestone County. I am blogging from McDonald’s in Rogersville, Alabama. We had a good session last night; all lead by our laymen. We have another session this morning. What about that weather yesterday? Was that beautiful or what…what about a shout out of praise for the beautiful day…THANK YOU JESUS.

Remember tomorrows schedule: DEACON’S meeting at 8:00, LCBS at 9:00, Worship Celebration at 10:15 and small groups at 5:30. We are having our first FRONT PEW shower for Ruth Livingston. She lost everything in a house fire Thursday. Bring Cash in a Card or Gift Cards. There will be a basket on the front pew. Let’s get her done!

Our Marine is in his last week of Infantry Training. Lord willing, he will be in Symarna Tennessee, next weekend and at home by the 18th.

J.S. Fagan. US Marine

J.S. Fagan. US Marine

Leave a comment