Know What You Want

June 18, 2016


celebrate-jesus-crimsonjpg

Scripture

“Lord,” they answered, “we want our sight.”

~Matthew 20:33, NIV

Quote

Know exactly what you want. Clarity equals power. Vague goals produce vague results.

~Image Quotes

We were coming back from Bessemer on Thursday night and Holly and I were hungry so we pulled into an Arby’s, Holly was barking instructions but I rudely interuppted with a question I always ask when approaching a drive through window, “Do you know what you want?” I hate to pull up to the window without everyone in the vehicle knowing definitively what they want. I’m not talking about “a fry,” I’m talking about curly fry, small fry, or large fry. You need to know exactly what you want.

Some people go through life like bewildered and confused folks who pull up to a fast food drive through without knowing what they want. If you don’t know what you want, who does? If you can’t articulate what you want clearly, how can anyone please you? The two blind men sitting by the Jericho road knew exactly what they wanted. Jesus stopped and said,  “What do you want me to do for you?” Without a moments hesitation, they said in unison, “we want our sight.”

extra1_0

  • Officially VBS 2016 is history except for the commencement Sunday evening at 5:00. We enrolled around 290 and averaged 210 per day. A “Well done” to all workers. Mandy and Shohn pretty much do VBS in terms of leadership: I help a little but its very little. DBC is blessed with capable leaders and we should appreciate them.  A special thanks to Nursery workers. Hannah is disappointed: she wanted a two week school. My family gives Charlene Tidwell rave reviews: she works in the nursery and loves it and the kids love her.
  • Yesterday was hot, too hot. I think I over heated. I was so tired I could barely get in the shower. I did not intend to go back outside but I did and was soaking wet with sweat in no time. I am thankful for the rain.
  • BUMPER STICKER OF THE DAY: Have you ever noticed that anybody driving slower than you is an idiot, and anyone going faster than you is a maniac?

foghorn it is so hot

Leave a Reply

