A Word To The Wise

June 4, 2016


celebrate-jesus-crimsonjpg

Scripture

I expose the false prophets as liars and make fools of fortune-tellers. I cause the wise to give bad advice, thus proving them to be fools.

~Isaiah 44:25, NLT

Quote

True wisdom comes to each of us when we realize how little we understand about life, ourselves and what goes on around us.

~Socrates

I was truly amazed at how much my father learned while I was in college and seminary. At age 17, I thought I knew everything and he knew nothing. This attitude began to change with time but I was grossly unaware of my ignorance. After graduating seminary, I knew nothing and suspected very little, but even then I did not fully appreciate the wisdom of my parents. At age 40, with teenagers in the house, I began realizing my ignorance and at age 50 I came to the conclusion that I was totally ignorant. Now, as a patriarch, one of my forms of entertainment is to watch people make fools of themselves. Some people assume they are the most intelligent person in the room; in reality, this is never true because Jesus  is in the room. The most intelligent person is usually the one listening.

Prophecy is the most fascinating subject in the bible and Isaiah is probably the most fascinating book. Isaiah made it crystal clear in chapter 44 that no one can get ahead of God. You don’t know what He’s going to do and when He’s going to do it. You cannot program Him with your interpretations or your predictions. These folks who have special revelations are idiots and the people who buy their books are bigger idiots.

Years ago there was an evangelist named Anis Shorrosh. I called him the Mad-Arab. He was Jordanian born and at some point converted to Christianity. I heard him say in person that Jesus would return in 1988. A few years later, I heard him nominate himself to be the president of the Southern Baptist Convention. Of course, by the time he nominated himself, not many of us were taking him seriously. Some folks will say anything to draw crowds, sell tapes and books. You can take every book written on prophecy and put them in one room and you have nothing other than conjecture and man’s opinion. No one knows what God is going to do or when He is going to do it. No one can predict the future.

I had an interesting conversation with a couple Tuesday evening after Tom’s COLS: the lady said, “I think God is using Obama to judge us for our disobedience.” My response was, “You may be right.” I don’t know if she is right or wrong. I do know this, God used the Assyrians and the Babylonians to bring judgment on Israel. It is very possible that He is using Obama to judge us.

While I am on the subject: I am running into Christians who say, “I can’t vote for Trump.” My response, “Do you want Hillary?” Presidential politics is about choosing the lesser of the evils. There are no Ronald Reagans in the picture.  Trump has the right idea about immigration [no more Muslims]. He is not on the take and he is a business man. I will take a businessman over a politician any day. Politicians got us in the mess were are in now: surely, we don’t expect a politician to get us out.

extra1_0

  • We got an inch of rain on Thursday and Decatur got another rain on Friday but I did not say anything about it because we noticed on the way to Bessemer Thursday night that the rain stopped in the bottoms. Those to our South got nothing. I am praying for you to get rain. 

  • About the Blog. I accidentally found a page the other night that I did not know I had, it gives me a list of followers. These are computer elites who know how to do things that most of us do not do. We have 59 followers [not readers] and I was shocked that more than half are strangers: people I do not know personally. I want to thank you for reading the blog and apologize for not responding to comments. Of course, I am thankful for our readers. In the near future, we will be changing our DOMINION name. I would like to get in done in the next couple of months. The church will keep danvillebaptist.org.

  • GOLDEN GIRLS this morning at Cracker Barrel.

  • Big Mama’s latest hit is Red Velvet Cup Cakes. She made 93 on Wednesday evening. I ate the last one last night at 9:54.

  • Mavis Fitzgerald was better: Kathleen Anders my get to go home today. She lives in an apartment behind Tammy’s house. It is very nice.

  • Front Pew Shower Sunday for Summer School: snacks and juice boxes. VBS meeting Sunday morning at 9:00 am in Sanctuary.

  • Vote on PASTOR SEARCH TEAM Sunday–9:00-10:30

  • Business Meeting Sunday June 12th after am service.

  • Attend Hartselle Camp Meeting Sunday night June 12th and hear Junior Hill. They will be celebrating Juniors 80th Birthday that night.

  • Vacation Bible School June 13-17

Leave a Reply

