Thank You LORD

May 23, 2016


I haven’t been doing a Sunday night blog but I am going to make an exception. The Lord is gracious and merciful and I am thankful to be a part of His great kingdom. We had over 1200 in church today and I am not exaggerating. We had a little less than 300 for the communion service which was good. We were thrilled to welcome Jesse, Ginger and Jake into the fellowship of our church. Then at 2:00 we had over 400 for Wee Care Graduation and the Lord was there to help us share the gospel. Then Baccalaureate was a record; I am guessing 500 plus. They parked in the grass.  We had 92 of the 101 graduates present. This is over 90% and is unprecedented in the 29 years these kids have been doing Baccalaureate. In the early years, school officials not only refused to support it, they forbade the Senior class sponsor from helping. This changed a few years back. Gilmer supported it during his tenure. I tried to get the Decatur Daily to do an article on the Danville kids and they refused, said it was not news worthy. In spite of all the discouragement, these kids keep doing it year after year. When they come, they know they are going to hear the gospel and they come anyway. Tonight I had an entire family thank me for our part in this endeavor. I am especially proud of Bethany Beavers. Her presentation of the gospel was humble and moving. I felt for Joe David. I was afraid he would have nothing to add but he did and of course I am proud of him. We want to thank our trustees and deacons who came to help: we had to bring in 30 chairs or so just for the seniors. Holy and her team did pretty good on the reception. Yeah, I am proud of Holly too, she does very good to be the baby. I also want to thank the crew from Athens who went to check on Hope for us. All in all, it was a good day and we are thankful.

Leave a Reply

