King Forever, Ceasing Never

March 18, 2016


celebrate-jesus-crimsonjpg

Scripture

Don’t put your trust in human leadersno human being can save you. When they die, they return to the dust; on that day all their plans come to an end.

~Psalms 146:3, GNT

Quote

I don’t think we need to send astronauts to the moon, I think we should send politicians.

~Ya’akov [Idea comes from Ron Paul]

Not many of my readers can go back to the 70’s and the infamous Carter years. Jimmy Carter was a horrible president, totally inept and amazingly incompetent. American’s breathed a sigh of relief when Ronald Reagan burst on to the scene. Hope and confidence emanated from the man. To be honest with you, I thought we were beyond recovery. I firmly believe that Ronald Reagan was the greatest leader of the century but he was limited to two terms and then quickly faded into the sunset. I am among the guilty of those who put too much confidence in a human leader. As the Psalmist said, “When they die, their plans die with them.”

I say this not to discredit Reagan but to reinforce the scriptural truth that no merely human leader can save us. Jesus is human but He is no mere human. If you deny His humanity, your are a heretic; if you deny His divinity, you are a lunatic. Reagan had to be elected and he was limited not only in the terms he could serve but by time itself. Jesus doesn’t have to run for office. He was not voted in and He can’t be voted out. He is the eternal self-existent One who has no beginning and no end. He is not King for a day, King for a month or King for two terms. He is KING forever, ceasing never!

You have probably heard the story of the cannibal restaurant. A group came their to dine and the menu’s were handed to them. As they looked at the menu, they noticed that Peasant was only $9.99, Preacher was $19.99 and the Politician Platter was $99.99. All were curious as to why the Politician was so much higher so when the server came back to the table, one of them ask: “Why is the Politician Platter so much higher than the other entrees?” “Oh, that is an easy question,” said the waiter, “do you realize how long it takes to clean a politician?”

EXTRA animated

  • I got word yesterday that Blanton Adair [Helen Doyle Hogan Adair’s husband] was promoted yesterday. Brandy told me Wednesday night that he was very sick. I had planned a trip to Birmingham today. Bro. Blanton was a Director of Mission for most of his ministerial life. He was good for Helen and I know she was good for him. I liked Blanton, the last time I saw him at the Pastor’s conference, he had on walking shorts and crocks. I like a man who is not afraid to be himself.
  • I thought Gary was about the same. I have not touched base with Randy Lewis yet but I understand he finished his first round of chemo yesterday and he gets a two week recovery time.
  • Due to the weather, I will probably go to Birmingham on Saturday.
  • We will have Deacon’s Sunday even though several are going to be gone. 

Gary, Keri and Kane

Leave a Reply

