Where Are The Sinners?

March 16, 2016


celebrate-jesus-crimsonjpg

Scripture

Don’t put me, your servant, on trial; no one is innocent in Your sight.

~Psalms 143:3, GNT

Quote

The depravity of man is at once the most empirically verifiable reality but at the same time the most intellectually resisted fact.

~Malcolm Muggeridge

As I was visiting a few days ago, I inserted a disc into my CD player and listened to a message on forgiveness. The message was delivered by one of the most revered men of our time; it was filled with truth but the messenger never, not even once, confessed any personal guilt or failure. Normally, when I hear this man preach, I feel better but this sermon was disturbing. My track record on forgiveness is a struggle at best. I can relate to David’s prayer…Don’t put me, your servant, on trial; no one is innocent in Your sight.

This aggravated my mind which lead to a lot of thought on this subject. Why is it so hard for us to confess our guilt? This is a universal problem which is seen even in the greatest Apostles. I am studying the book of ACTS currently but this is something I noticed a few years ago. The Apostles lay the death of Jesus at the feet of the JRL [Jewish Religious Leaders] but they never acknowledged their own personal guilt in relationship to Jesus death [Acts 2:23, 36, 3:15, 4:10, 5:30 & 10:39]. Since they all ran like cowards, I know there had to be some guilt. I am sure their guilt was understood, I just wish it had been clearly stated. All of this is recorded for a reason, spiritual leaders should make their desperate need for grace clear so that all understand.

Our depraved lying nature is also revealed in the JRL who said in Matthew 27:25, “Let His blood be on us and our children,” and then in Acts 5:28 “And now, you want to make us responsible for His [Jesus] death.” Wow! What a shift. First they want responsibility and then they pretend they had nothing to do with Jesus death. We are all responsible folks, no exceptions. It was not only the corrupt and ruthless Sanhedrin, the indifferent Pilot, the cruel Roman soldiers but it was our fear, cowardice, jealously, envy, selfish ambition, love for the world and a thousand other sins that put Jesus to death. We are all guilty!

Recently I was in a meeting at another church and a member of that congregation and I were talking about their pastor and this is what she said, “I love my pastor because he is the first preacher I have ever known who confesses publicly that he is a sinner.”

When many of our illustrations from the pulpit feature us and all have a happy ending, with us shinning like the stars of heaven, something is wrong. I know the truth, all men are depraved, and that includes preachers. You can save your act for someone else, I’m not buying it. Be real, it’s a big deal both with God and others.

extra1_0

  • I knew I was leaving someone out yesterday: Steve Hardy will be transferred from PMC to HH today for an arteriogram.
  • I actually got to talk with Gary Garner yesterday and have prayer. I really don’t know what to report other than we “Need a Miracle.” I know this, the man has suffered a lot and I want what’s best for him. I don’t pretend to know what that is but our Heavenly Father does.
  • I don’t think Robert Pope went to Lake Shore Rehab in Birmingham yesterday. 

Gary, Keri and Kane

Leave a Reply

