Under Construction

March 10, 2016


celebrate-jesus-crimsonjpg

Scripture

I don’t mean that I am exactly what God wants me to be. I have not yet reached that goal. But I continue trying to reach it and make it mine. That’s what Christ Jesus wants me to do. It is the reason he made me his.

~Philippians 3:12, ERV

Quote

Every human being is under construction from conception to death.

~Billy Graham

Gravestone_of_Ruth_Bell_Graham_IMG_4206

I don’t usually begin with a pic but I wanted you to see this one before you read the comments. Long before Mrs. Graham became bedridden, she was driving along a highway and encountered the familiar construction in progress signs, reduced speed, warning after warning. She patiently drove through the construction zone and was tickled by the sign at the end….”End of construction. Thank you for your patience.”

When she got home, she told the family, “I want this on my tomb stone.” They chuckled thinking she was kidding, she was not. Sometimes I wonder if I will live long enough to drive to Atlanta without encountering a construction zone with the reduced lanes and speeds, plus lots of signs. I am a conspiracy theorist, I believe construction zones are speed traps to get more revenue for the government. I am kidding of course.

Mrs. Graham has a point, roads are not the only thing under constant construction, we humans are in the same boat. As soon as we get one thing fixed, we see the need to fix something else. As Paul said, “We are not perfect yet, but we are headed in that direction.” The Chinese symbol on Mrs. Graham’s tomb stone is the Chinese character for ‘Righteousness.’ I assume it refers to the righteousness of Christ which will be fully manifested at the revelation of Jesus Christ. Hallelujah, what a SAVIOR!

  • I’m not the only one with back problems, Robert Pope has been in Cullman Regional Hospital all week. His right leg is not working properly after a recent back surgery. Sister Jane is a few doors down with knee replacement. I had an MRI yesterday and got very good news, no ruptured disc, just inflammation and aggravated nerves. I’m on steroids and better already.
  • I don’t know if we will have a baptism this Sunday are not. I have not given up but it doesn’t look good. Seth has to go to Smyrna this weekend for drills. This Sunday is Daddy’s birth date. The Marines have missed me up.
  • I understand Obama snubbed Nancy Reagan’s COLS and Scalia’s. I am not shocked. The man has no class and is a disgrace to the office. I can’t understand why the all powerful Richard Shelby has not impeached Obama. His ads proclaimed him as the man who stopped Obama. What a joke! No one has stopped Obama.
  • SWAMP JOHN’S April 3, just three weeks away and we have sold only 231 tickets which isn’t many. Remember, all proceeds go to ST. JUDE’S in Memphis. Someone told me that the Pumkin Center Fire Department sold over 500. I would think we should do better. Maybe our hearts are not in it?
  • Gary Garner’s condition has not changed. Pray for Gary.
  • June and I will [Lord willing] be attending a COLS at Salem’s Springs today. The Chairman of all Deacons was promoted on Monday. Elmer Jackson, native of Cullman County, transplanted to West Limestone after graduating Auburn as an AG teacher. He liked West Limestone so well he stayed there. He was a good man who loved Jesus.
  • FRANKLIN GRAHAM prayer rally April 14th.
Leave a Reply

