Sleeping Through The Storm

March 2, 2016


celebrate-jesus-crimsonjpgScripture

“Awake, O sleeper, rise up from the dead, and Christ will give you light.”

Ephesians 5:14, NLT

Quote

Indifference is the strongest force in the universe. It makes everything it touches meaningless. Indifference is more difficult to conquer than hate and hostility.

~Image Quotes

Sleep is often used in the bible as a symbol for spiritual laziness, apathy and lethargy. Jonah would have slept through a tempest had not he been awakened by the ships captain. Matthew Henry said of Jonah, “The devil had rocked him to sleep in carnal security.” The disciples slept on the Mount of transfiguration and again in Gethsemane.

How could Jonah sleep through a tempest? How could the disciples sleep while Jesus was in deepest agony? How do we sleep while America continues to kill babies by the millions? We sleep through the storm because we are indifferent; spiritually, we are lethargic. Comfort is more important to us than morality.

What would it take to wake a sleeping church? A voice perhaps. My father use to wake us up with Isaiah 60:1, “Rise and Shine.” He also jerked the covers off and grabbed your big toe. Deprivation can awaken us. I go to bed hungry in order to control my weight but get up around 1:00 am for a Klondike bar, then about 3:00 for a cheese and cracker or some pickled okra. Deep hunger can awaken us. How bad do you want a REVIVAL? Catastrophic events like earth quakes and tornadoes can wake us up. The destruction of the World Trade Center was a wake up call but we rolled over, hit the snooze button and went back to sleep.

You may have heard the story about the mom waking her son on Sunday morning:

Mom: “Son you need to get up.”

Son: “Why?”

Mom: “Because you need to be at Church.”

Son: “Why do I need to be at church?”

Mom: “Because you are the pastor.”

extra1_0

  • We received word that Carmen Livingston passed away yesterday evening. I was on the road and did not get in until 9:30 last night. June told me to look at my phone and the message was there. I visited Carmen last Sunday evening. He said he was tired of living and was ready to go but I did not expect his departure to be so soon.
  • This has been the busiest week of my life and I am exhausted. The reason there was no Blog yesterday was that I was exhausted when I got home on Monday night. I had to sit on the front pew last night and rest a few moments before driving home. My nephew offered to drive me but I couldn’t let him do that.  Bro. Tim called and talked me home. They had one Profession of Faith last night in a JBS. This has God written all over it!
  • I think several people have forgotten that I will not be a DBC tonight, I will be finishing up at Sardis Springs. Shohn needs a van driver and it cannot be me. Joe David has his plate full and it doesn’t need to be him. If you can help, call Shohn.

Gary, Keri and Kane

Leave a Reply

