Starlight

February 18, 2016


celebrate-jesus-crimsonjpg

Scripture

“For you shall go out with joy, and be led out with peace; The mountains and the hills shall break forth into singing before you, and all the trees of the field shall clap their hands.”

~Isaiah 55:12, NKJV

Quote

And when I reach the other side, I want to look you in the eye and know that I have arrived in a world where I belong.

~Reepicheep {Voyage of The Dawn Treader}

I doubt if anyone below the age of 50 will recognize the name Pat Nixon. Pat was born March 16, 1912 in Ely, Nevada but eventually moved to California where she worked her way through college [USC] doing odd jobs. She later became a devoted wife and mother with no ambition for fame. Eventually, she would become the first lady of the United States. Unfortunately, due to events beyond her control, she has never received the honor due her.  Dr. William Franklin Graham in his last book, WHERE I AM, devotes and entire chapter to her memory. Thank you Dr. Graham for reminding us the greatest of this exemplary and extraordinary first lady.

  • Mike Wallace of CBS– “Her stamina and courage, her drive and self-control made her one of America’s most remarkable women.”
  • Billy Graham–“Few women in public life have suffered so much with so much grace.”
  • Tricia Nixon Cox–“Her faith in God sustained her during the last difficult days of her life.”
  • Julie Nixon Eisenhower–“My mother’s favorite phrase was ‘Onward and Upward’. {C.S. Lewis…The Horse and His Boy…Chronicles of Narnia}

The Secret Service code name for Pat Nixon was ‘Starlight.’ Indeed she was a beacon of hope during the dark days of scandal and ensuing shame. Those who knew her best testify that she never lost her sweetness of spirit nor her sense of optimism. Judging by her spirit, you would not have known there was such a thing as Watergate. In spite of all the difficult circumstances, Pat Nixon was lead by peace and went out with joy with the applause of heaven.

P.S.

I have very little confidence in politicians but even less in the media. The Payton Manning fiasco is case in point. For those who can’t go back to the Nixon era, Watergate was a feeding frenzy for the media. The power to destroy a man and his legacy was enthralling to them: they enjoyed every moment. Collateral damage meant nothing to them. They couldn’t have cared less about Nixon’s family.

I have news for the liberal media: Nixon was a cub scout compared to the Kennedy’s, Johnson’s and the Clinton’s.

extra1_0

  • I think they got the weather forecast wrong. I went to Debbie’s mom COLS without a coat. June told me I wouldn’t need one. That’s the first time this week she has been wrong. I think it is supposed to be better the rest of the week.
  • Pray for Gary Garner. We need a miracle folks. Gary is very, very weak. Let’s lift him up DBC.
  • Another great GATHERING…Man I love the Wednesday night service. I studied more for last night’s sermon than I have for any sermon I have preached in years and I had a ball delivering it.

swamp johns

Leave a Reply

