The Kingdom

February 14, 2016


celebrate-jesus-crimsonjpg

Scripture

“But truly I tell you, there are some standing here who will not taste death before they see the kingdom of God.”

~Luke 9:27, NRSV

Quote

The kingdom of God is being built in the hearts of those who have surrendered their allegiance to the KING of kings.

~William Franklin Graham

I mentioned in the Mid-week service on February 3, that I thought God had revealed an answer to me regarding Luke 9:27; I think I was premature in my judgment. There are companion verses found in Matthew 16:28 and Mark 9:1 and they read just a tad differently which throws my interpretation under the bus. Mark 9 reads… “Truly I tell you, there are some standing here who will not taste death until they see that the kingdom of God has come with power.” Matthew 16 reads…Truly I tell you, there are some standing here who will not taste death before they see the Son of Man coming in his kingdom.”

There are three aspects of a kingdom: [1] King [2] Subjects [3] Domain. Two thirds of the KINGDOM are in place–Jesus is our KING and we are His subjects. The only thing we await is the domain or the realm. Actually, there are two things yet to come: the visible presence of Christ and the kingdom [domain/realm].  

There is no question that Jesus inaugurated the kingdom when He was here on earth and the church is beginning of the kingdom. If Luke’s account was all we had, I would say that Jesus could have been talking about the day of Pentecost and the miraculous birth of the church. If Luke and Mark were our only sources, I would say that Jesus could have been talking about HIS resurrection which is very powerful but Matthew relates the consummation of the kingdom with the appearance of Jesus. Although Matthew does not use the common word for coming [parousia], the Greek verb used does mean to appear such as in an arrival. So we are right back where we started: we don’t know how to interpret this verse.

I am comfortable with this mystery: If I could figure out the God we love and serve, He would not be big enough to worship.

extra1_0

  • My plan for yesterday was to stay in and study but I couldn’t. I think the LORD was prodding me to visit and He laid some names on my heart and I knew I couldn’t study until I obeyed. I went as far as Tennessee and I had a very good day.
  • Mary Wilbourn {Debbie Gilliland and Charlie’s mom} passed away yesterday. I have no arrangements at this time.
  • In my opinion, our sick folks are about the same but again, that is my opinion. My nephew has had 7 good days in a row, PTL. Gary Garner was resting when I was there but Larry said he ate a good dinner.
  • Regular Schedule today: Deacons @ 8:15, LCBS @ 9:15, CELEBRATE JESUS IN WORSHIP @ 10:15 and 6:15. AWANA and Visitation @ 5:30. LORD willing, you will have a special Valentine Day treat today.
  • We need to sale some SWAMP JOHNS’S tickets today: we have to pre-sale 200 or they will not come. We lack 175 reaching the mark. If we meet the quota, they will come April 3.

swamp johns

Leave a Reply

