Food And Stomachs

January 23, 2016


celebrate-jesus-crimsonjpg

Scripture

“Food was made for the stomach, and the stomach for food.” This is true, though someday God will do away with both of them.

~I Corinthians 6:13, NLT

Quote

“Life is too short for low-fat, low-calorie diets. Dietetic means are like an opera without and the orchestra.”

~Paul Bocus

my-thoughts-red

There is great pleasure in eating, were this not true, Eve would have declined the fruit. The leaves of the tree are for the healing of the nations but the fruit, oh the fruit is for pleasure. Because eating is so pleasurable, it becomes a problem. Some of the more tasty items are unhealthy and then there are portions.

When I read the above scripture yesterday morning, I was sitting in a doctor’s office. I was there because of my stomach. At first I chuckled: “Hum, no stomach [belly] in heaven.” We usually think of our belly as our stomach which in reality, is not the case but for humor sake, I would love to have a smaller stomach [belly].

On a heavier note, I have abused my stomach. Not only have I eaten too much, I have eaten the wrong things. I’m getting my calories. I average four Klondike Ice Cream bars a day. I love Werther’s Original candy and I can eat butter, jelly and baked potatoes but there is a long list of things I can’t eat or drink. My doctor says the things that have done the most damage are cokes, Advil and Excedrin. Basically, it is friends who read the blog and I would like for you to learn from my experience. Ten years ago, I drank 12-18 cokes per day. Now I have to eat something {shouldn’t be much} every 2 hours or so because my stomach doesn’t function properly. If I don’t eat, the stomach hurts and if I eat too much the stomach hurts.

I cannot imagine what God has in store for us in heaven but I do believe when He takes something away, He replaces it with something better.

extra1_0

  • Bill Wilbourns COLS is Tuesday at Roselawn in Decatur at 2:00. There are two visitations: Monday night 6:00-9:00 and Tuesday 12:00-2:00. The family will be gathering at Neel Methodist for a meal after the interment. I think Connie Wilbourn can help you with info if you want to assist. DBC will get the meat and drinks.
  • Had a delightful visit with Buford yesterday: the snow was falling outside his window and he was snuggled up in a blanket on the coach. I tortured him with some Mama-in-law jokes.
  • Gary Garner is still making progress, PTL. He was wrapped up, lying on his bed and Jan had raised the blinds so he could see the snow. June said on the way to the doctor, Jason is wanting it to snow awful bad. I said, “That’s very understandable, he wants to get that UTV out in it.” Good luck Jason.
  • As we said yesterday: we will play the weather by ear. I’ll do a phone message later this evening.

Gary, Keri and Kane

 

One Response to “Food And Stomachs”

Leave a Reply

