Jesus Came!

December 17, 2015


celebrate-jesus-crimsonjpg

SCRIPTURE

 He was in the world, and the world came into being through Him; yet the world did not know Him. He came to what was his own, and His own people did not accept Him.

~John 1:10-11, NRSV

QUOTE

The Almighty appeared on earth as a helpless baby, needing to be fed and changed just like any other infant. The more you think about it, the more staggering it gets. Nothing in fiction is so fantastic as this truth of the Incarnation.

~J.I. Packer

my-thoughts-red

Notice two words in the text, “He came”! The essential miracle celebrated by Christians is the incarnation. Jesus is the perfect gift and God’s love is the perfect motive…”For God so loved the world”. In laymen terms, Jesus came because He cared. Sometimes nothing says “I love you” more than a personal visit.

As parents grow old they have no desire for gifts; most of us have what we need and if we want something bad enough, we will find a way to get it. I was trying to decide what to get Mother one Christmas when it dawned on me that a visit would be the greatest thing I could give. That’s when I started spending half of Christmas Eve with Mother. 

A visit to an elderly person on such a busy day is a treasured gift to them, especially if it’s a parent or grand parent. Lonely people love a visit because it is a graphic expression of love. Is there a lonely person that you could visit during the holidays? Many of them do not need your money: they have more than you do but they would cherish a visit. It will not cost you a dime, just a little time! I know, your time is worth more than money and they know this also.

merry christmas 2

  • The weather has been incredible but I have been house bold for three weeks. I haven’t been on my Gravely and I have had perfect conditions for mulching leaves. Hopefully, Dr. Ward will have a plan for my recovery. I see him today at 5:30.
  • Good crowd at the GATHERING last night: a lot of the kids did not come inside: I bet we had 40 and we always have 40 Youth.
  • I don’t have the official numbers but I am pretty sure a $1,200 dollar Mission Offering will put us over our goal.
  • God has answered a lot of prayer this past week: I saw two of the mountains come down Sunday [one likes a hair] and then God moved another one on Tuesday. THANK YOU JESUS. It was the unspoken one on Monday’s blog. Now, I have another unspoken and this one not only effects me, it effects the church. You don’t have to know, just pray for God to answer Bro. Jack’s unspoken. The last thing we want at CHRISTMAS is broken or heavy hearts. Prayer for the unspoken.
  • Remember the Sunday schedule: Donuts and biscuits @ 9:00, LCBS @ 9:15, Celebrate Jesus @ 10:15 [lunch break] Christmas Ministry at Summerfords at 1:00. Perhaps you want to be a part of this ministry but you don’t want to come with us. You can bring hard candy, lotion, body powder, trinkets, anything that the elderly can use. You bring it and we will hand it out but you will enjoy it more if you come. It will be worth your effort to see Joe work the entire home. He knows everyone and everyone knows him.

Gary, Keri and Kane

Leave a Reply

