The Human Problem

December 4, 2015


celebrate-jesus-crimsonjpg

Scripture

Then Jesus said to his disciples, “If any of you wants to be My follower, you must turn from your selfish ways, take up your cross, and follow Me.”
~Matthew 16:28, NLT

Quote

Selfishness is never so exquisitely selfish as when it is on its knees.
~A.W. Tozer
my-thoughts-red
I am reading through the Psalms in the Good News Translation and a few days back, I read Psalm 38, a prayer of David. I am aware of David’s greatness: what God accomplished through this man is unbelievable but David was human and his bent toward self comes out in Psalms 38.
Forty-eight times in this prayer, David refers to himself. He makes reference to other, including his enemies, eight times and there are nine references to God.
Most of us do not listen to the details of our prayers but God convicted me some time ago about how selfish I tend to be in my prayers. I am like an immature child, I dive right in and go to asking. My son doesn’t do that, he begins his prayers with a litany of praise. God has convicted me through him. So, I have been trying to discipline myself to put the LORD first and others second and save my supplication until last. It is a struggle.
Remember the story of the staff eating out: if I am familiar with the restaurant, I know what I want before I sit down and when the waiter or waitress comes to the table and says, “What will it be today?” Without a moment of hesitation, I blurt out, “I want the tortilla soup, the club sandwich and the salad with one of those delicious croissants.”
I did this very thing a couple of years ago and everyone at the table starting laughing. Joe David was laughing at me and they were probably laughing the expression on his face. I said, “What, did I do wrong?” He said, “Daddy is customary to let ladies order first.” I said, “But I am paying for it.” He said, “That’s beside the point.” Hey, it’s a hard habit to break.
extra1_0
  • Buford is suppose to come home today. He walked all over the hospital yesterday. PTL
  • Kane got home from HH at 8:00 PM [12/4/15] last night.
  • We enjoyed the CHRISTMAS PARTY with Jeff’s class. I love parties. I limped in and limped out but it was worth it. We had 21 counting Sue and Granny.
  • My good friend and landlord Ray Edwards is sick. We think it is a UTI: should know for sure today.
  • We’ll have a slightly different order of worship Sunday: The Choir will do their Christmas music in middle and we will close with a baptism I hope. There will also be a short sermon, I hope.
  • GOLDEN GIRLS and Senior Adults CHRISTMAS PARTY is Saturday at 9:30 at Cracker Barrel in Hartselle.
  • Deacons Meeting Sunday morning at 8:15.
  • Children’s Christmas Play and Supper is Sunday night December 13th at 5:30. This Sunday night is AWANA and Worship at 6:15.

Gary, Keri and Kane

Leave a Reply

