THANKSGIVING

November 26, 2015


celebrate-jesus-crimsonjpg

Scripture

I will always thank the Lord; I will never stop praising him.

~Psalm 34:1, GNT

Quote

“Ingratitude is antithetical and irreconcilable to Grace.”

~Ya’akov

my-thoughts-red

One of my favorite thanksgiving stories comes from Corrie Ten Boom. The barracks where she and her sister Betsie were housed was infested with fleas. Betsie insisted that Corrie give thanks quoting I Thessalonians 5:18, “In every thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.” Corrie was having a hard time being thankful for fleas but the scripture reads…in everything not for everything. In the midst of bad situations we can find things for which to be thankful. Betsie told Corrie, “We are still together, we have a bible and the guards never come in to inspect the barracks.” In the midst of such horror, Betsie named three things that Corrie had to be thankful far. By the way, the reason the guards never came into the barracks was the fleas. Corrie got to keep her bible and have daily bible studies because of the fleas.

A man once stole Matthew Henry’s wallet. In reflecting on the incident, Henry said, “I am thankful that he never robbed me beforeI am thankful that although he took my wallet, he did not take my life.  Although he took all I had, it was not much. And I am glad that it was I who was robbed, not I who did the robbing.”

extra1_0

  • THANKSGIVING PRAISE AND WORSHIP TODAY at 9:30 am.

Gary, Keri and Kane

Leave a Reply

