Classic Hidden Agenda

November 21, 2015


celebrate-jesus-crimsonjpg

Scripture

Then Herod called for a private meeting with the wise men, and he learned from them the time when the star first appeared.Then he told them, “Go to Bethlehem and search carefully for the child. And when you find him, come back and tell me so that I can go and worship him, too!”

~Matthew 2:7-8

Quote

There is a place deep inside where the real person guards his secret thoughts and true intentions–what a man says is often a deceit to hide what he really is inside.

~Dave Hunt

my-thoughts-red

As I was reading Matthew 2 yesterday morning, I was reminded that the wicked and cruel Herod is a classic example of the hidden agenda. He said, “Go to Bethlehem and search carefully for the child. And when you find him, come back and tell me so that I can go and worship him, too!” He lied pure and simple: his intent was not to worship Christ, his intent was to kill Him. So why did he lie about his motives? He lied because his motives were evil and he did not want the wise men to know his evil intentions. They were honorable men and they would have no part of such a conspiracy so Herod shrewdly covered his true motive. He intended to use the wise men to get what he wanted.

extra1_0

  • WORK DAY is still on. We will be at Peggy Appleton’s on Taylor Road. Next door to Jimmy Dobbins and straight behind David and Kay’s, right at the end of Bird Vest Road. Lori will meet you at the church, I will be at the site.
  • Joe David is officiating the Fletcher Hill service and he will not be able to help on our ministry project. We are going to do  our best to get done by 1:30. High School Seniors and College Students wanting to go to Guatemala are required to do two ministry projects. This is an opportunity and you will get free pizza for lunch, courtesy of Mrs. Edith Sandlin who loves the DBC Youth.
  • Buford Burgess has had a couple of bad weeks along with Gary Garner but both are slightly better. I had a great visit with Dot and Buford yesterday. Dot has the gift of hospitality. Buford’s dog hates me, what’s new. I shook hands with Buford and the little beast came at me: Cindy saved me from a dog bite. I hope to get to see Gary today but my plate is full. Pray that I will get to where I need to be.
  • I also visited the Summerford Nursing Home. Mavis was fit as a fiddle: she chuckled every time I said something. If only my children thought I was so funny. Mrs. Ona Holladay was out and about in a wheeled chair: something I haven’t seen before. She is usually in her recliner. She was having a great day. I also visited with Betty Blackwood {Keith and Ken’s mom]. She is thrilled that Ken and Allison are coming home in February. I visited Virginia Hill and an old preacher friend Alfred Arnold Palmer. Bro. Alfred has read the bible through 368 time {KJV}. Wow! I have read the NKJV one time along with every English Translation I can get my hands on. I am some 330 short of Bro. Alfred.
  • I hope you are getting ready for LUKE 14: Big Mama has her menu prepared and Hannah has spent the better part of yesterday working on the dressing. Ladies, it is an opportunity to be a minister. I am not worried, you always come through.

Gary, Keri and Kane

 

Leave a Reply

