Jesus Stopped!

November 5, 2015


celebrate-jesus-crimsonjpg

SCRIPTURE

When Jesus heard him, he stopped and ordered that the man be brought to him.

~Luke 18:40, NLT

QUOTE

By persistence, the snail reached the Ark.

~Charles Spurgeon

my-thoughts-red

Luke 18 opens with…One day Jesus told his disciples a story to show that they should always pray and never give up. Chapter 18 ends with Jesus leaving Jericho in route to Jerusalem where He would die for the sins of the world. Can you imagine what it would be like to know you were going to be crucified in less than two weeks. In spite of this heavy burden, Jesus takes the time to help a blind beggar by the name of Bartimaeus who was yelling to the top of his lungs, Jesus, Son of David, have mercy on me!” Those around him told him to shut up but he yelled louder. Jesus heard him and stopped. On His way to accomplish His mission in life, Jesus stopped and listened to the man’s desperate prayer.

How difficult is it to get someone, anyone to stop and listen. What an awesome heart warming thought: Jesus the Creator-Redeemer stops and listens.

Everyone around Bartimaeus discouraged him, “stop crying out–Jesus is too busy to hear a beggar like you. He has a mission on His mind and He does not have the time to help a poor beggar like you.” Bartimaeus didn’t pay any attention to the nay-sayers, he just kept hollowing, Jesus, son of David, have mercy on me. What a comfort to know, Jesus is not too busy, not too preoccupied with running a universe, that He doesn’t stop and listen. What a privilege to carry, everything to HIM in prayer.

extra1_0

  • God is good, what can I say: so much to thank Him for…[1] The YOUTH really respond to Wade, their section was packed and they were singing during the praise time. [2] Six precious professions of faith. [3] Mattie is being baptized this Sunday. Rebecca is down for the 15th and  Buford is scheduled for the 29th.  [4] The praise and worship has been phenomenal: I’ve never seen anything like it. It was the van kids and the praise that go me fired up Monday night; up until that point, I was dead on the inside. I thank God for restoring my soul. [5] I think Wade’s offering was good, I think I misunderstood Willard. June told me that I was a thousand dollars off but I’m afraid to say until I make it official. I think it was better than last year. Thank You Church.
  • TURKEY’s are a done deal. We have all 10 Turkey’s for our Luke 14 banquet. Hannah will do the dressing for one table and we will let some one make it for the second table if we have a volunteer. We will help you on the ingredients. Let me know ASAP.
  • Debbie Gilliland has a lot on her plate: we need to lift her up. She is basically responsible for her brother–she doesn’t get much help and he depends on her. KT’s mom got to come home but her dad is still at DGH. Jim was with him yesterday. I think his breathing was better but he is very weak. Michael’s father-in-law’s surgery was a big success: they got better news than expected.

Gary, Keri and Kane

Leave a Reply

