Inconsistent Behavior

November 4, 2015


celebrate-jesus-crimsonjpg

SCRIPTURE

Jesus replied, “You are blessed, Simon son of John, because my Father in heaven has revealed this to you. You did not learn this from any human being.

~Matthew 16:17

QUOTE

If your are persistent, you will get it: if you are consistent, you will keep it.

~Image Quotes

my-thoughts-red

Matthew 16 is very interesting: in verse 17, Jesus blesses Simon Peter,You are blessed, Simon son of John, because my Father in heaven has revealed this to you. You did not learn this from any human being.” Then Jesus tells the disciples about His death….”That it was necessary for him to go to Jerusalem, and that he would suffer many terrible things at the hands of the elders, the leading priests, and the teachers of religious law. He would be killed, but on the third day he would be raised from the dead. With this Peter takes Jesus aside and reprimands Him… “Heaven forbid, Lord,” he said. “This will never happen to you!” Then notice what Jesus says in verse 23, just 6 verses from the blessing… Jesus turned to Peter and said, “Get away from me, Satan! You are a dangerous trap to me. You are seeing things merely from a human point of view, not from God’s.”

Peter went from being blessed to being embarrassed in a matter of minutes. Are you plagued with inconsistent behavior,  up and down, on and off, fired up and fizzled out. To be a credible witness for Christ, we have to be consistent. As a teenager, I was terribly inconsistent and no one paid any attention when I tried to witness. As an older teenager, I realized that my hypocritical behavior had destroyed my influence. People were not taking me seriously. I got all fired up in revivals and then fizzled out a few weeks later. I was an Alka-Seltzer Baptist: I made a lot of racket and then fizzled out.

extra1_0

  • Another great service. I’m telling you, David and all the band have done a superb job this week. Sloan and Mr. Hardy did great. The congregational singing has been off the charts. We had a ton of visitors last night: if we could get our members to come, we would have REVIVAL for sure.
  • Our pre-service prayer meeting is getting thin: Deacons and whoever, tonight at 6:30 in Jerry’s LCBS class.
  • I can’t tell you what a blessing it is to drive the van–the kids make my day. Sissy is a hoot. I put her in charge last night because I didn’t know all the kids. We picked up some new ones that Sissy and Dian invited. These kids are always happy. It’s hard to explain why they are happy and we are not. Chloe got upset that she did not get to ride the bus. I think Holly promised her she could go tonight.
  • Joe David did the Hospital visits…Both of Karen’s parents are sick and in the hospital. Mrs. Hill is in HH and Mr. Hill is at DGH. He is not doing well: very weak and labored breathing. Pray for the Hills and for Bill Wilbourn.

Gary, Keri and Kane

Leave a Reply

