Fearing God And Being Faithful

October 25, 2015


celebrate-jesus-crimsonjpg

SCRIPTURE

I gave the responsibility of governing Jerusalem to my brother Hanani, along with Hananiah, the commander of the fortress, for he was a faithful man who feared God more than most.

~Nehemiah 7:2, NLT

QUOTE

Fear nobody, but God Almighty.

~Lil Wayne

my-thoughts-red

Was Nehemiah talking about his brother or the commander of the fortress. Most likely the commander of the fortress but possible both. Nehemiah was about to return to Persia so he needed men he could trust. His brother and Hananiah fit the bill. Fearing God and being faithful go hand in hand. A man who does not fear God will certainly not be faithful to God. Leadership is huge and America is proof. I’m not saying a good leader would save us but it would make a vast difference. Would the walls of Jerusalem been rebuilt without the leadership of Nehemiah: I don’t think so. Nehemiah was a great leader and he feared what would happen in his absence but circumstance demanded that he delegate leadership to others in his absence. He picked men who feared God and had proved themselves faithful.

By the way, Bro. Harold Thompson used Nehemiah to describe Mrs. Coree Vest. I thought he picked out the perfect verse.

extra1_0

  • Life is about giving things up: I think the next thing to go for me will be college football. I feel like I just ran a marathon.
  • Checked on Bill and Gary. Bill Wilbourn was not having a great day but Gary is better and his counts are getting higher.
  • I imagine Kane will be at church today, LORD willing. The boy is a trooper.
  • Today’s Schedule: Deacon’s meeting at 7:45, Donuts and Biscuits at 8:30, LCBS 9:15, Worship 10:15, Baptisms, STEW 5:30, Hay rides at 6:15.
  • CONGRATULATION to the DHS Lady Hawks; they advance to the State for the 11th year in a row.
  • I done a little of everything this week an a whole lot of nothing but I am thankful: I have had a couple of narrow escapes and I want to praise God for His infinite goodness. Leo the lip Durocher use to say, “God takes care of drunks, idiots and 3rd basemen.” I am not a drunk or a third basemen. Let’s put it like this, I feel very undeserving of His love, mercy and His bountiful blessings. I have been in a hurry all week and it has cost me: I want to slow down so I can be where God wants me to be. I will say this, BIG MAMA is number one around here and there is no doubt about that: I ask her last night to postpone the second surgery until after Christmas. I think she agreed. I pick at deer hunters a lot but really I envy them: when they get in the woods, they don’t have a care. This pic is proof.
Note the Symbolism

Does this boy look like he is worried about anything.

Gary, Keri and Kane

Leave a Reply

