Who Is The Lazarus At Your Gate?

October 24, 2015


celebrate-jesus-crimsonjpg

SCRIPTURE

Jesus said, “There was a certain rich man who was splendidly clothed in purple and fine linen and who lived each day in luxury. At his gate lay a poor man named Lazarus who was covered with sores. As Lazarus lay there longing for scraps from the rich man’s table, the dogs would come and lick his open sores….”

~Luke 16:19-21, NLT

QUOTE

Only one life to live here on earth and it will soon past; only what we do for Jesus sake will last.

~C. T. Studd

my-thoughts-red

Tradition ascribes the name of Dives [die-vees] to the rich man is Jesus story. He lived the life of Riley, wanting for nothing while enjoying every luxury. Unfortunately for him, a beggar name Lazarus laid at his gate and Dives did not so much as give him the table scraps. The dogs paid more attention to Lazarus than Dives who lived as though Lazarus did not exist. Who is the Lazarus at your gate? If you look closely, you will find someone God wants you to help and they may not be that far away.

We can live for the good of others or we can be totally selfish; it’s our choice. We can hoard earthly wealth or we can use our resources to help others.  If we act with total disregard for others; there is a good possibility we do not know Jesus in a personal way. Dives didn’t and he woke up on the wrong side of the gulf. It was a mistake he is still regretting and one we don’t want to make.

extra1_0

  • I go brain dead sometimes: Kane was at the game, I sat and talked with he and his dad but didn’t get pic. I am not a doctor but I think he looks a lot better.
  • Debbie said that her brother Bill was a little better, PTL.
  • Three baptisms scheduled for Sunday morning.
  • Front Pew Shower Sunday, all day. It is for MILESTONE MINISTRIES in Hartselle. The big deal is toilet paper and it is not cheap. Toilet paper, tissue, paper towels and hygiene products. Remember, it is a women’s ministry. You are not buying for men. This could be your Lazarus or just a test to see if you have a heart to help others.
  • Fellowship Sunday Night at 5:30 with Hay Rides for the kids. You bring a pot of soup, stew or chili or if you prefer bring two of the following items: desert, chips [Frito’s are good with chili], 2 liter drinks or cornbread. Mexican Cornbread would be great. Something like what you see below: Jennifer and Traci could do this couldn’t they…just go by the picture.

a cornbread

  • It’s good to have Eddie and Sue in Danville. Eddie was telling me what a good service they had at Bro. Teddy’s last Sunday. They have two services and the building was packed for both. Wouldn’t it be fantastic to have two services and DBC and pack them both. I’d be thrilled to pack one but if we had two,  both Joe David and I would get to preach every Sunday morning.
  • June is much better: she now has a walking boot but she is apt to over do it. She is not very good at minding me; plus, she doesn’t have a lot of confidence in my household abilities. Get a load of this–are you sitting down. I have washed two loads of clothes this week which is more than the previous 66 years. I have washed the dishes twice. I don’t see any sense in washing them after each meal: I let them pile up first and then get all at one time. You are certainly not going to believe this: last night I went to Maw Kroger’s for her. She texted me the items she needed [8 things] and it only took me 45 minutes to find them. That was with the assistance of four women. The miracle is that I came home with the right stuff. I haven’t made a bed yet: Mylee made them once. I am just not good at making beds plus I see no sense in making up a bed when you are going to get right back in it and mess it up. Hey, I am wasting my time telling you all this stuff: it doesn’t matter how much I do, everyone feels sorry for June. On our recent cruise, everyone kept saying, “Bless her heart.” That happened in spite of me putting my best foot forward: I just don’t understand.

Gary, Keri and Kane

Leave a Reply

