Need

October 19, 2015


celebrate-jesus-crimsonjpg

SCRIPTURE

You claim, ‘I am rich, I have accumulated riches, and I need nothing’; but you do not realize that you are miserable, pathetic, poor, blind, and naked.

~Revelation 3:17, The Voice

QUOTE

Yes, there were times when I bit off more than I could chew but through it all when there was doubt; I ate it up and spit it out, I faced it all and I stood tall and did it my way.

~Paul Anka

my-thoughts-red

We are all born with a bent to pride and independence. You see this desire to be independent in both young and old. We’ve all seen little children fall because they refused help. As we grow up, most of us learn that we need help; we need others and most of all, we need Christ. Unfortunately some grow up with an arrogant spirit of independence; the song “My Way” recorded by Frank Sinatra and Elvis Presley is a fitting testimony for those who refuse to acknowledge their need for help. They don’t need help; not your help, my help, not even God’s help. I’m probably describing some people you know: they do it their way, they give God not credit nor glory and some do rather well by earthly standards but there is a problem that they do not foresee.

June and I watch some of the old Law and Order shows; when the police gather enough evidence, they turn it over to the DA and he/she takes it to a grand jury. Some where in this process, the offender usually gets a lawyer. When there is mounting evidence that a person is guilty, they lawyer up.

What if I told you that everything you’ve ever done has been recorded and there is enough evidence to condemn you to hell? Wouldn’t you want an advocate, a lawyer, someone to plead your case? These folks who are arrogantly doing it their way are going to need a lawyer on judgment day. I need one and so does everyone else and that includes Paul Anka, Frank Sinatra and Elvis. We all need Jesus.

{A little history, Paul Anka wrote the words to MY WAY with Frank Sinatra in mind. Frank was in the mob at the time but wanted out. I am sure there is more to the story.}

extra1_0

  • A great day yesterday [10/18/15]. We had a baptism {Zander  Robinson}, we had one Profession of Faith, Buford Burgess and one by letter Dot Burgess. It was a wonderful service. We have a baptism lined up for this Sunday and we hope each Sunday afterwards for 8-10 weeks. Dot wants Buford to get a little stronger and we have some other extenuating circumstances to work out but I think it is going to happen.
  • Change in Plans: we are going to have a fellowship and hayride next Sunday evening at our normal time, 5:30. We are going to ask for you to help us. I want everyone who will to bring a big bowl of soup, chili or stew. Those who do not bring stew are to bring cornbread, drinks or a homemade dessert. We will eat in the FORTE and also have Hayrides for Puggles and all the AWANA children. Lance and I will do the Puggles. The Puggles will stay on campus: we will ride in the parking lot. Shohn is lining up help for the older children.
  • Great MISSION OFFERING $1,100.00
  • Mrs. Coree Vest was promoted yesterday around noon.
  • Bill Wilbourn was disoriented and his vitals about the same. Heart rate still too high.
  • Kane Update: Kane feels good. Not eating a lot. That is rough on a Momma. Tomorrow they will look at his colon again. Prayers for a clear ultrasound so that chemo can resume. Pray safe travels as Craig heads home again. Thank you all. We are tired of Memphis and past ready to be home!

Gary, Keri and Kane

Leave a Reply

