Let It Snow: Kidding!

October 12, 2015


celebrate-jesus-crimsonjpg

SCRIPTURE

“Come now, let’s settle this,” says the LORD. “Though your sins are like scarlet,I will make them as white as snow.

~Isaiah 1:18, NLT

QUOTE

Creation is God’s first witness and it speaks a language that all mankind can understand.

~Ya’akov

my-thoughts-red

I took a walk through the bottoms yesterday evening. The bottoms are beautiful this time of year as long as you look up. Unfortunately, we humans have trashed it up. There is garbage in both ditches and old furniture lying along the side of the road. I walked through and enjoyed the beauty of the foliage, I also noticed the trash that liters the ditches. I thought, “God you painted a beautiful picture here and we have trashed it up.” Within an instant, the thought came to me, “Yes but He can fix it in less than an hour.” How can God cover our trash? With a couple of feet of snow.

He can do the same with our spiritual trash, our sins. He covers our sins with the precious blood of His only begotten. As the inspired hymn writer wrote–

Lord Jesus, for this I most humbly entreat,
I wait, blessed Lord, at Thy crucified feet,
By faith for my cleansing, I see thy blood flow—
Now wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow.

extra1_0

  • What can I say, God is good. I hate it when the school system creates these long weekends: it usually spells low attendance for DBC but not yesterday. We must of had a lot of late comers because when I got up to close the service, I noticed the house was full for the first time in awhile. To be honest, I was shocked. Plus we had one decision: Christina Chumley came for Baptism. Speaking of Baptism, we probably have a dozen in waiting. I think we will be baptizing some this coming Sunday. PRAISE THE LORD JESUS! What about all those visitors? Wow!
  • ARRANGEMENTS for Leon Livingston: Visitation from 1:00-3:00, COLS at 3:00. Lawrence Funeral Chapel on 157. I appreciate those who pray for me; please remember me today.  Pray for Brenda and the children. She and Leon have great kids. This family has made a huge impression on me.
  • The MISSION offering was not bad: if my memory is correct, it was around $600 which puts us at the $12,000 mark I think. I would like to get our $30,000 goal by the end of November. I have an IMB project I want to talk with you about: I meant to mention it yesterday.
  • Gary Garner comes home today: PTL.
  • If you want to hear recent sermons: go to the church web page and Catfish should have a link that will take you to his page where he has the library. I’m going to listen to Joe David’s sermon on September 13: the Sunday I was gone in Revival. Eventually, Catfish will have the video/audio where you can access it. Joe David has dubbed Catfish “Media Pastor.” Once we get it up and running, Eddie and Sue can watch our service from China or where ever. “Go Fish.”

Gary, Keri and Kane

Leave a Reply

