DESIRES

October 6, 2015


celebrate-jesus-crimsonjpg

SCRIPTURE

Delight yourself in the LORD and He will give you the desires of your heart.

~Psalms 37:4, NASB

QUOTE

“Man’s primary need is to desire the right things.”

~Randolph W. Tasker

my-thoughts-red

There are few evils in this world that cannot be traced to covetousness and envy. I was raised by an ultra-conservative Baptist Separatist who corrected me every time I said, “I would like to have that…” She would say, “Son that is coveting, you do not want that, it belongs to someone else, you want one like it.” My problem with her logic was; “what if there is not another like it?” Covetousness does not always lead to possession and envy doesn’t always attain the position of a rival. As long as we allow our desires to drive us; no satisfaction, no true peace and no contentment will be had. We must love what Christ loves and desire His will for our life. We must find our delight in HIM; then and only then will He give us the desires of our heart.

extra1_0

  • I am trying hard to do shorter blogs but I keep thinking of things I want to say. My ultimate goal is to be brief.
  • Everything went great at the Pastor’s Conference; thanks for the prayers.
  • I left the office about 3:30 yesterday: I told Mandy that I had a couple of visits to make and I wanted to get home and rest. Good luck with that: I decided I would hook the truck to the trailer to haul my tractor to the mechanic and my truck was loaded with furniture. By the time Seth and I got the Paul Bunyan King Size bed frame in and set up [we had to move every piece of furniture in the room to do it] I was totally exhausted and having back spasms. So much for a little rest.
  • LORD willing, we will be going to Douglasville, GA. Thursday for Uncle Floyds Celebration of Life Service. It will be at 10:00 am our time so we are going to have to leave early. At least it is all Interstate.
  • Kane Update: Ultrasound shows insides are still troubled. Continue antibiotics by IV outpatient. Repeat ultrasound Thursday. We hope to start week 21 Thursday. We are hanging out in Memphis for another week at least.
  • I am very impressed with St. Jude’s. I didn’t know but June has been giving to them for years but I want our community to do something. We are thinking about doing a SWAMP JOHNS with all the proceeds going to St. Jude’s. I have some one working on this project; when we have a definite plan, I will share it. I have never eaten Swamp John’s so I am anxious to see what it is like.
  • I go to my email to check and see if Bobby has sent me something and there are pages of Facebook request. I’m sorry folks but I went back the Facebook page and went to clicking but I could not get through all of them tonight. The only reason I got on was to see one picture on my phone. I am in over my head, big time. I think Willard is wrong, I do have some friends. I told him the other day that I thought everyone hated me, he said, “Stop whining bro. Jack, everyone hasn’t met you.”
  • Kelvin goes to Doctor today and Keri goes to Vandy tomorrow. May be there for a couple of days.

Gary, Keri and Kane

Taken Thursday Sept. 24 in Uncle Floyds back yard.

Taken Thursday Sept. 24 in Uncle Floyds back yard.

One Response to “DESIRES”


  1. So glad you got to go see him that day… good job blogging!

Leave a Reply

