You Can Only Imagine

October 5, 2015


celebrate-jesus-crimsonjpg

SCRIPTURE

O Lord, how long will you forget me? Forever? How long will you look the other way? How long must I struggle with anguish in my soul, with sorrow in my heart every day? How long will my enemy have the upper hand?

~Psalm 13:1-3, NLT

QUOTE

Walk in the Spirit: never allow your emotions to lead you.

~Ron Dunn

my-thoughts-red

David was down, discouraged and on the brink of despair. His circumstance were rotten and from his view point, he could not see a bright future. David is filled with doubts as expressed in his questions–four of them…”How long” questions. How long will you forget me, look the other way, allow me to struggle and my enemies to triumph over me?

In his doubt and despair, David scratched out a poem and then set it to music. Isn’t it amazing what a song will do for you? David put his trust in God’s unconditional love and benevolent goodness and by faith he began to sing about his salvation before God had actually delivered him. Of course we all know the rest of the story: David never lost a battle and his enemies did not triumph over him.

Philippians 2:13 comes to mind–For God is working in you, giving you the desire and the power to do what pleases him. To quote my favorite ED man in the SBC…”If God is working in you, He is working through you and accomplishing far more than you can fathom.” [Jay Gordon]

Do you think David had an inkling that his songs would be recorded for billions to read, enjoy and sing for two thousand years to come? I don’t think David could fathom a billion. There wasn’t a billion people on earth during his time. Ephesians 3:20 just popped into my mind–Now all glory to God, who is able, through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we might ask or think. Glory to him in the church and in Christ Jesus through all generations forever and ever! Amen.

extra1_0

  • Both offerings were good yesterday. If you want to know what the Kane Hogan offering was, check the calendar in the teller’s office.
  • I get in too big of hurry and leave the house without taking my BP meds: it’s OK if I am local but it is not OK when I am on the road and I did this twice last week resulting in a headache from Saturday even to who knows when. It is a little better tonight. When I write about God’s goodness on Sunday night, I realize that few if any know what’s going on or why I am so elated to finish another Sabbath. I wish you could believe when I tell you, God’s grace was very real to me yesterday. It was all Him in the Communion Service. I didn’t have a note one and my head was aching. Kaye came down and gave me a hug: she said, “God was here today, this was a great service.” I agree and I doubt if anyone was more blessed than me because I knew it was all HIM.
  • I am preaching at the Pastor’s Conference today and could use some prayer: I have two sermons in my mind but I can only preach one.
  • Leon Livingston is in DGH room 406. Leon is not doing good. Please pray for he and Brenda: they are salt of the earth kind of folks.
  • We have a lot going on this week. I missed Terry Cowart when he is absent, the man does more than your realize. He had the old stomach bug. Kelvin Callahan goes back to Doctor on Tuesday I think and Keri goes to Vanderbilt on Wednesday.
  • Kane update: We have been back to the hospital this weekend for labs because he feels so bad. Kane’s counts are great. They said it takes time to recover from the trauma he had inpatient and the fact he was inpatient for so long weakens a guy. So I guess we wait. Big day tomorrow repeat ultrasound and start chemo back. Prayers for that and physical strength we are ready to come home but I have rode shotgun in an ambulance to Memphis one time too many. Craig is heading home and Noah is without a Mama again: keep the prayers coming.
  • My uncle Floyd was promoted about 9:00 pm last night [Oct.4]. He was 89 and the last of the Bailey’s of his generation. He was a typical Bailey, he had to be doing something all the time but he did recreate more than his siblings. He enjoyed golf and camping. He was an avid Brave’s fan. No one else is the five cared anything about sports. My daddy never watched a ball game in his life. His mother and sisters certainly didn’t.

Gary, Keri and Kane

Leave a Reply

