Surrender

September 5, 2015


Celebrate Jesus.crimsonjpg

SCRIPTURE

Don’t be selfish; don’t try to impress others. Be humble, thinking of others as better than yourselves. Don’t look out only for your own interests, but take an interest in others, too.

~Philippians 2:3-4, NLT

QUOTE

Self-interest is the mortal enemy of surrender.

~Charles R. Swindoll

my thoughts red

We all have a devoted will to serving self and it is inspired by our self-love. Each of us have our own way of doing things. We try to serve God our way and this is not acceptable. If you think you have arrived; study these six commands found in Philippians 2:3-4. You may note that three are negative and three are positive but all have something in common: you cannot obey them without surrender.

  1. Don’t be selfish [Don’t push your way to the front of the line]
  2. Don’t try to impress others. [Don’t let a prideful agenda take over]
  3. Be humble. [Put your self aside]
  4. Think of others as better than yourselves. [Think of others more than you think about your self]
  5. Don’t look out for your own interest. [Don’t be obsessed with gaining the advantage]
  6. Take an interest in others. [Get beyond your self long enough to help others]

Which of the six is more difficult for you to practice? They are all difficult for me but number four is by far the most difficult.  To place more value on others than I do myself is tough. The self in us wants no part of surrender.  We will commit but we refuse to surrender because we want to be in control. Most of us are far to insecure to trust Christ with everything. To be able to think like Christ we have to crucify self and focus totally on HIM; there is no other way. The hymn writer says it best:

Turn your eyes upon Jesus,

Look full in His wonderful face;

And the things of earth will grow strangely dim,

In the light of His glory and grace.

THE PURITAN PRAYER

When Thou wouldst guide me, I control myself,

When Thou wouldst be sovereign, I rule myself.

When Thou wouldst take care of me, I suffice myself,

When I should depend on Thee, I supply myself.

When I should surrender to Thy will, I follow my own,

When I should serve Thee, I serve myself.

I interpret Thy law to suit myself,

Instead of Thee, I look to man for praise and approval.

[Amen or Woe is me]

extra 2

  • We will probably be without stripes for Sunday: Just park where you’ve been parking. I think they are coming Tuesday. Hey, it didn’t hinder anyone last night. The DBC parking lot was full.
  • It’s been a long time since the Danville Hawk football team was 2-0. It was 35-3 when June and I left and I think Danville scored again as we were leaving.
  • I have not complained about the weather all year but I have come close: we are in our last heat wave most likely and it will not be long until we have some stew type weather.
  • Sunday Schedule: LCBS at 9:15 and worship at 10:15. We will [Lord willing] have biscuits and donuts there by 9:00.

Gary, Keri and Kane

Leave a Reply

