Ignorance Is Not Always Bliss

August 26, 2015


Celebrate Jesus.crimsonjpg

SCRIPTURE

But Jesus said to them, “You don’t know what you are asking! Are you able to drink from the bitter cup of suffering I am about to drink?

~Mark 10:38, NLT

QUOTE

In Christ Kingdom, the road to greatness travels through the valley of service, sacrifice and suffering.

~Ya’akov

my thoughts red

With a little prodding from mom, James and John got a little over ambition and ask Jesus for the one and two spots in the Kingdom but they were thinking that Jesus would be sitting on a throne ruling, not nailed to a cross dying. Jesus said to them, “You don’t know what you are asking! Are you able to drink from the bitter cup of suffering I am about to drink? In Judaism, a cup meant one of two things, suffering or celebration; here it meant bitter suffering. These two ignorant teenagers said, “Yes, we are able.” Jesus replied,  You will indeed drink from my bitter cup and be baptized with my baptism of suffering but I have no right to say who will sit on my right or my left.”

These boys did not ask for the throne; they knew Jesus belonged on the throne. They were willing to serve under Him but they did not want to serve the other ten. It is hard enough to submit to a perfect Jesus, who wants to submit to earthly authorities? James and John were kids, most think from 14-20 years of age. They were in for a shock and some accelerated learning. The Cross and the Resurrection were eye openers and they both drank the bitter cup of suffering. James was the first martyr and John survived imprisonment and a pot of oil. They tried to kill him but he wouldn’t die. In time they learned the truth: in the Kingdom, the way up is down.

When I was a young preacher I aspired to be great and then I learned: every great man of God has suffered intensely. Adrian Rogers lost a son, he literally died in his arms. Ron Dunn had a son commit suicide. On and on I could go. When I became aware of the price they paid, I gladly surrendered my ambition.

Martin Lloyd-Jones said, “I am told that I must esteem others as better than myself and there is only one way I can do it–I must contemplate the cross of Christ until I am crushed into the dust. It is the only thing that curbs the flesh in me.”

extra 2

  • I like good news but this has been a tough week and I have a heavy heart tonight. Gary fell yesterday morning and they rushed him to DGH where he stayed all day in the ER. Finally got him into a room last night but his head was killing him and they finally got him easy around 8:00. The report from the PET scan was not what we wanted but they say it is treatable. The man has been through so much. When I got to the hospital yesterday morning he was feeling better and we talked for about 30 minutes about spiritual things. He told me things that made my heart sing. I left on a high note but on the way home from the funeral home Hannah sent me a text and then Larry called a few minutes after I got in. The best news was that they gave him something for pain and he was getting easy. You have been so good to pray for Gary but I am asking you to pray again. I don’t understand this but I don’t understand a lot about suffering. The great Albert Schweitzer, “Whoever is spared personal pain must feel himself called to help in diminishing the pain of others.” He was a doctor, I am not. All I can do is pray and stand beside those who are suffering. I will tell you this: I am not going to miss this world.
  • Tonight is our GATHERING at 6:30. Fifteen minutes of praise and worship and then our break-out groups. The Choir is having a supper tonight and they want everyone to show up. Men, they need you. David is going to introduce the Christmas music. He would be very encouraged to see a crowd for choir. Everyone make a special effort. Call Mandy or Jamie to get details on the party.
  • YOUTH: you to could have a pizza party if you do what I ask–[1] Move the racks upon the amphitheater stage [2] take down the remaining fence [3] put picnic tables back under pavilion. Mrs. June will be watching and if she sees you working, she will go get the pizza. No work, no pizza. Text JD and tell him what kind you want if you want the pizza.
  • Joe David and I had lunch with Allen and the Blackwood Brothers yesterday. The Blackwood’s are highly intelligent but Allen may be sitting at the head of the table. He doesn’t say much: he doesn’t get a chance.  I love their stories about their grand parents. I should have invited Hannah, she idolizes Keith. She talks about him all the time.
  • Needs for FRIDAY BACKPACK PROGRAM: Poptarts, Peanut butter crackers, canned food [Ravioli, Chili, spaghettios], Caprisuns, Fruit Snacks, Applesauce, Granola Bars, Fun sized candy bars.
  • Word Press is free so I shouldn’t complain but in their effort to make me pay, they allow glitches in the program. They will not let me delete pics and I have the Wheaties picture of the pervert and I am so sick of seeing it every time I do the blog.

Gary, Keri and Kane

Leave a Reply

