Through The Fire

August 24, 2015


Celebrate Jesus.crimsonjpg

SCRIPTURE

When you go through deep waters, I will be with you. When you go through rivers of difficultyyou will not drown. When you walk through the fire of oppression, you will not be burned up; the flames will not consume you. For I am the Lord, your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Savior.

~Isaiah 43:2-3, NLT

QUOTE

Jesus loves you and there is nothing you can do about it.

~Junior Hill

my thoughts red

Basically, I have lived a sheltered life. I don’t understand why some of us have it so easy while others suffer so much. I read a story recently of a 34 year old Rwandan man who survived the Rwanda genocide of 1994. The slaughter began on April 7 and lasted for 100 days. An estimated one million Rwandans were murdered, that’s 20% of the total population. The genocide was planned by members of the political elite known as the akazu, many of whom occupied positions at top levels of the national government. They used the Rwandan army, the National Police, and government-backed militias.

This man was 13 years old when he and his family were brutally attacked, his parents and two sibling were murdered. He took his three younger sisters and fled. Somehow, by the grace of God, they survived but he was shaken in his faith, “why would God allow such a horrible thing to happen?” The lost of his parents was devastating and having to be a parent to his sisters was more responsibility than he ever imagined. They survived but he became skeptical until one night he heard a preacher speaking from Psalm 68 about God being a Father to the fatherless. He went into the meeting and responded to the invitation. He knelt at the alter and gave his heart to Jesus: his deepest desire was to have God be his father. “I still battle the resentment,” he said,  “It is hard not to hate the people who murdered my parents but when it comes up, I remind myself of all the sins that God has forgiven for me and I know I must forgive them.”

I bet there’s no one out there reading this blog that has a story like Alphonsine Imaniraguha. Admit it, we are blessed!

extra 2

  • Gary Garner did not have a good day yesterday: don’t forget Gary when you pray today.
  • The offering for the parking lot was short of $20,000.00 which is nothing to crow about but it will get us by. We had 297 yesterday morning with a ton of regulars out and 158 last night which is the best Sunday night attendance in a  while. We had 84 in AWANA and 12 in the Nursery. We need to appreciate our Nursery workers. They are in there for two hours on Sunday night. When we get the parking lot complete; we are going to have to work on our play ground for the sake of our nursery and pre-school teachers.
  • The motion to change the Sunday morning service carried but I am withdrawing the motion. I am asking you to pray. We have not prayed enough about this or anything else. We can accomplish a lot if we work together. This is my goal, to get us pulling together in the same direction. Things will stay as they are for now. I will talk to you more Sunday. I don’t know about the election: Mandy has that at the office. I will post it tomorrow night.
  • I did love visitation: Adam and I had a great visit. We need your help: give us names, information or come go with us and introduce us to your friends.

Gary, Keri and Kane

Leave a Reply

