What Were They Thinking?

August 23, 2015


Celebrate Jesus.crimsonjpg

SCRIPTURE

As they stoned him, Stephen prayed, “Lord Jesus, receive my spirit.” He fell to his knees, shouting, “Lord, don’t charge them with this sin!” And with that, he died.

~Acts 7:59-60, NLT

QUOTE

If everyone is thinking a like; then someone is thinking.

~General George Patton

my thoughts red

Steven’s prayer is similar to the one Jesus prayed on the cross, “Father, forgive them; they don’t know what they are doing.” Once again the Sanhedrin is acting like anything but a high council. Perhaps Gamaliel was not present. I am sure they had excommunicated Nicodemus and Joseph by now. This is not good PR for a court that is trying to distance themselves from the crucifixion of Jesus which they now deny any involvement in [Acts 5:36]. Stephen could have prayed the same prayer, the Jewish religious leaders are stilling acting in ignorance.

Fast forward 2,000 years and the Jews are still rejecting Jesus in mass. Their spiritual ignorance has nothing to do with aptitude. The Jews make up less than 1% of the world’s population and they have won 15% of the Nobel Prizes. They excel in medicine, science and economics. I can not prove it but I would wager they control more than 15% of the world’s wealth. They are not intellectually inferior but when it comes to Jesus and Christianity, they have an unbelievable bias and blindness. Stephen said in Acts 7:7, “In the end, they will come out [slavery and darkness] and worship Christ.”

I am not a prophet nor the son of a prophet but I am telling you simply what I see in scripture over and over. The Jews in mass are going to acknowledge that Jesus is the Messiah and they are going to be a huge factor in evangelizing the world. I think this great spiritual awakening could happen any day. God has strategically placed them all over the globe. Once they turn to Christ we will have a million Apostle Paul’s.

“But preacher, no one agrees with you: all of the books on prophecy say something else.” So! I do my own thinking. I could be wrong or they could be wrong–only time will tell. As Willard says, “If I agree with you for the sake of agreeing with you, that would make us both wrong.”

Extra__logo-1_0

  • TODAY is a big day; I do hope you have prayed a lot. The LORD convicted me for not exercising faith so I have changed my goal from $30,000 to $50,000. Understand the money is not nearly as important as the miracle. We need the miracle much more than the money. I am praying for God to do something that no one can explain. I am praying for the awe and shock that we find in Acts 5, and where the place is shaken in Acts 4.
  • Prayer meeting at 8:15–Deacon lead but open to anyone who wants to pray with us.
  • Slight change in tonight’s schedule: visitation and AWANA at 5:30 with worship at 6:15.
  • Great LCBS lesson: perfect timing.

Collage9

Leave a Reply

