Discipline

August 22, 2015


Celebrate Jesus.crimsonjpg

SCRIPTURE

For God has not given us a spirit of fear and timidity, but of power, love, and self-discipline.

~2 Timothy 1:7, NLT

QUOTE

Discipline is something no one likes but everyone admires.

~Chuck Swindoll

my thoughts red

Jascha Heifetz is said by many to be the greatest violinist of all time. George Bernard Shaw heard him in concert when he was 19 and said, “His music is not human, its divine.” Heifetz became known as God’s fiddle player. From age four when he picked up a violin until age 87 when he died, he practiced the violin four hours every day. If you do the math, that is more than one hundred thousand hours of practice. He practiced 120 hours in private for a one hour concert.

Mike Singletary was barely 6′ and just over 200 pounds, much too small for a middle line backer in the NFL. Singletary made 10 Pro Bowls, busted countless helmets and set game and season tackling records. How did he accomplish so much with so little size? He watched films relentlessly. When everyone else had gone home, he was in the film room or the weight room. He works hours to prepare for 60 minutes on Sunday evening. He worked the year round for 16 games.

Michael Jordon was not born an All Star, he had to discipline himself and work hours in private to become the best in public. Art, music, sports or Christianity: the key is discipline. If it was easy, everyone would do it.

extra 2

  • Mrs. Ona looked good yesterday. I had decided I would not do a pic if she felt bad but when I walked in she was smiling and looked so pretty that I could not resist. The birthday party is back on: it is today at noon.
  • Mavis was having a good day also: she was in the dinning room waiting on lunch. She cackled when I walked in and said, “Well, well, if it isn’t Bro. Jack.” We talked a little football, she is living for September 5. She told me we played Wisconsin and I thought she was wrong but she is right.
  • I didn’t check on Gary yesterday: may run by today. He will be at church Sunday if he is able to walk. He doesn’t like to miss.
  • I had gotten way behind on grass cutting: I cut a ton of grass yesterday, literally; ankle high and will not dry out. The crab grass is awful but I am not complaining. I had rather cut it as dust.
  • Open Deacon’s meeting Sunday morning at 8:15. Polls open at 9:00. LCBS at 9:15 and worship at 10:15 and 6:15.
  • Bobby sent me a new top ten…Things I trust more than Hillary…Its good.

Collage9

Leave a Reply

