Totally Committed

August 9, 2015


Celebrate Jesus.crimsonjpg

SCRIPTURE

 But I don’t care what happens to me, as long as I finish the work that the Lord Jesus gave me to do. And that work is to tell the good news about God’s great kindness.

~Acts 20:24, CEV

QUOTE

True greatest is to serve unnoticed and to work unseen.

~Chip Ingram

MY THOUGHTS

Do you consider yourself a devoted follower of Christ? We humans are driven by instinct and possibly the strongest instinct is self-preservation. I was debating with an older gentleman who had been voting for democrats. I explained their position on abortion and homosexuality: I said, “You do not support these two things do you?” He said, “No, but the republicans will cut out my social security and I have to live.” I said, “That’s where you are wrong, you don’t have to live.” For the record, this is where America is wrong.

Do you see Christ call and purpose as being greater than your physical life? Do you consider yourself expendable? Texas would be speaking Spanish today had it not been for the heroic exploits of the brave men at the Alamo. They believed in a cause worth dying for: they saw themselves as being expendable.

On February 23, 1836, the Mexican army of General Antonio López de Santa Anna, arrived in San Antonio  and surrounded the Alamo. The next day, Lieutenant Colonel William B. Travis, leader of the Alamo’s defenders, sat down to write a letter addressed to “the People of Texas & All Americans in the World.” Travis appealed for help, but expressed no fear or despair at the ever-mounting odds against his men [25 to 1]. Instead, he vowed to “never surrender or retreat,” but to fight to the death. As we all know, help never came and Colonel Travis and his men died courageously but their sacrifice was not in vain. They heroic efforts was the key to Texas winning their independence.

Once a man commits himself to a cause greater than himself and sees himself as being expendable, as did Paul; he becomes a walking dead man who can wreak havoc on the enemy because his life has no sway over him: he is ready to die for the cause.

The Disciples of Christ were not martyrs when He called them. They were young, inexperienced, green, ambitious and very insecure. Jesus forged them into a fighting force, men of courage who came to view themselves as expendable. They laid down their lives for Jesus and changed the world in the process.

extra 2

  • SCHEDULE FOR TODAY: Deacon’s meeting at 8:15, LCBS at 9:15, Worship at 10:15 and 6:00. Band Practice at 3:00, First Priority Pray meeting at 5:45 [at the three schools].
  • Great response to the plea to pray for Gary.
  • I got a record number of HAPPY B’day Text yesterday: thank you for that outpouring of love. I forgot it was my birthday until June mentioned it and reminded me that we where going to Hannah’s for breakfast. It is hard to believe, I am 63 years older than Chloe. I don’t want to go back but I would like to have a 40 year old body. Yes, I would try to take better care of it than I did this one. A lot of birthday’s yesterday: Bill Wood, Jean Narrell, Courtney Nichelson, Mike Trout, Keith Carradine, Kohl Sudduth [41] Mel Tillis [82], Connie Stevens [76],  and Dustin Hoffman [77].
  • This is BLOCK PARTY WEEK and there is nothing like it. June says they are predicting cooler weather–wouldn’t that be great. Actually, yesterday wasn’t too bad. I have never seen a year go by as fast as 2015.
  • I slap dab forgot to tell you NASCAR fans that Richard Petty was on the ship with us and I bumped into him in the elevator, he and two beautiful young women. I guess it was daughters or granddaughters. Probably daughters because they were in their prime [40]. He was as nice as he could be: I looked at him and said, “You are Richard Petty, right?” He said, “That’s right and stuck out his hand for a shake.” We chatted briefly. I told him that my wife was going to kill me for not having the camera and he said, “I’ll see you later and you can get a pic.” I didn’t see him again. He didn’t have on his cap or sun glasses which I understand is rare. I would have forgotten it but June reminded me.

Collage9

Leave a Reply

