Hope Verses Presumption

August 5, 2015


Celebrate Jesus.crimsonjpg

SCRIPTURE

Finally, they cried out to the Lord for help, saying, “We have sinned against you because we have abandoned you as our God and have served the images of Baal.”

~Judges 10:10, NLT

QUOTE

In our petitions to God, let us look upon Him as a just, as well as a merciful God; and neither despair or presume upon his mercy.

~Abraham Wright

my thoughts red

If you have studied the period of the Judges, you know that Israel was inconsistent in their faith. They would drift toward idolatry, selfish and wicked living; then come under bondage to some prevailing power. In their bondage they cried out to the LORD and again and again, He had mercy upon them. In chapter 10 there is such a prayer but God gave a quick reply: “You’ve been worshiping Baal, so why don’t you pray to Baal.”

Then the Israelites got desperate, and pleaded with the Lord, “We have sinned. Punish us as you see fit, only rescue us today from our enemies.” Still no answer from God so the Israelites decided to repent, get rid of their idols and serve Yahweh. Then God saw their misery and had mercy.

I refuse to throw in the towel and I disagree with those who say that leadership doesn’t matter. God delivered Israel by sending them a good leader. I am convinced that a good leader would help us; that leader could be Ben Carson, I don’t know. He says he will defund Planned Parenthood [Abortion Provider]. God is capable of raising up a good leader and He could bring America to her knees, in seconds, without working up a sweat. On the other hand, God could give us what we deserve.

The bottom line is: we dare not be proud or presumptuous but neither do we give in to hopeless despair.

extra 2

  • Another long day but God’s grace is amazingly sufficient. We got home last night about 7:00 and we have to be back at church in the morning at 7:00. The Danville area Teachers are having their in service meeting in the sanctuary this morning beginning at 8:00.
  • Things continue to fall into place concerning the BLOCK PARTY. I called Ronald Asherbranner yesterday morning and he told me he was ready: fireworks are already in hand and paid for: you can’t beat that with a stick. I also talked to Bryan Drake who will be with us for BP and August 16th am worship. He is going to work the park and then come on stage at 8:00. You can bring clothes Thursday night after 5:00, all day on Friday and Saturday am…August 13-14-15.
  • On my way to Huntsville to see John on Monday, I stopped at McDonalds to get an ice cream cone. I was making some calls and I went in, ordered and paid for the ice cream and then I continued my conversation and went to the car. When I started to pull out; I thought, something is not right and then it hit me: I didn’t wait for my ice cream. When I went back in, a young girl was standing behind the counter with my ice cream cone in hand. She never said a word but gave me a strange look. It was not a look of pity or sympathy: it was more like contempt.
  • Josie and Mylee went with Holly and myself to the service yesterday; on the way back Holly ask me how old I would be this Saturday and I said “Sixty-Six.” Mylee said, “Granddaddy you look thirty.” I thanked her for the compliment. Then Josie said, “Holly, you look forty-five.” Then I said, “This is going to make the blog.”

Collage9

Leave a Reply

