Our Sins

July 12, 2015


Celebrate Jesus.crimsonjpg

SCRIPTURE

You spread out our sins before you—our secret sins—and you see them all.

~Psalms 90:8, NLT

QUOTE

Since our fall in the garden, man has had a tendency to hide his sins and flaws. It is a form of self-deception: sins cannot be hidden from God.

~Ya’akov

my thoughts red

Our sins may be hidden from us, even possibly those who know us best but they cannot be hidden from God. The process of our awareness of our sin and depravity is a life long endeavor. God, through His word, our experience and the illuminating power of the Holy Spirit reveals our sins. He is merciful and gracious by revealing our sins incrementally, usually one at a time. I don’t think any of us can handle a full revelation of our sinfulness. In all probability, we think we are better than we are. I remember my school days and there were times that I was confident that I did well on a test but when I got it back, it was full of red ink. There were also times that I thought I did poorly and I was shocked when I saw a good grade.

The bottom line is: it would be wise for us to be HUMBLE and HONEST. The place to begin with the honesty is with Jesus and yourself. He already knows the truth. Your confession is not going to change HIM but it may change you.

extra 2

  • Well, it has been a week and once again I praise God for the ability to work and to help others. God has been good to me, not only more than I deserve but more than I can comprehend.
  • We have to really get focused on Gary Garner. He has had a bad week. Let’s pray together…would you join me? Father, we pray for Gary to be encouraged by something: progress, definite diagnosis or out right healing. We believe YOU are not through with Gary. You have used him to help so many and now we lift him up to YOU. The doctors don’t know what to do. Our eyes are upon YOU. In Jesus name, heal Gary.” I hope you can say “Amen” to this prayer.
  • July is streaking by and August is going to be on us soon. AWANA is moving to Sunday night which means a major adjustment in our Sunday schedule. I think it would be wise to take these steps one at a time. Due to the AWANA change and shortest of time, I am going to propose that we try the new Sunday morning schedule in September, not August. That will give us more time to spread the word.
  • Our plate is full today: Deacons at 8:15, LCBS at 9:15 and worship at 10:15 and 6:00. Wanda Yarbrough COLS is at 2:00 pm at Rideout’s Brown-Service in Decatur. Burial will be at Courtland. It is an old cemetery and one of my favorites. I may be getting like Mother. She loved cemeteries.
  • Carman is doing better. His legs look much better. Their A/C went out Friday night and they were camped at Sandra’s yesterday. I think Emogene and Carman overheated before they moved to Sandra’s. He loves his ramp.
  • Joe David made it home safely: PTL.

Guns 00055

Leave a Reply

