Liberty

July 4, 2015


Celebrate Jesus.crimsonjpg

SCRIPTURE

I will walk in freedom, for I have devoted myself to your commandments.
~Psalm 119:45, NLT

QUOTE

 Is life so dear, or peace so sweet, as to be purchased at the price of chains and slavery? Forbid it, Almighty God! I know not what course others may take; but as for me, give me liberty or give me death!
~Patrick Henry
my thoughts red
When was the last time you heard a liberal quote Patrick Henry or even mention the name George Washington? Washington and Jefferson are being written out of the history books because they owed slaves. They sure would not like Henry’s quote about 2nd amendment rights, “Are we at last brought to such a humiliating and debasing degradation, that we cannot be trusted with arms for our own defense?” Oh for some men like Washington, Jefferson and Henry.
Have you noticed the subtitle on the DECLARATION OF INDEPENDENCE…it reads in big bold print…THE UNANIMOUS DECLARATION of the thirteen united STATES OF AMERICA. Notice the emphasis is on the STATES, not the federal government. I bet there is not a politician in Washington that can quote the Declaration of Independence. There are some who don’t even know what it contains.
When in the Course of human events, it becomes necessary for one people to dissolve the political bands which have connected them with another, and to assume among the powers of the earth, the separate and equal station to which the Laws of Nature and of Nature’s God entitle them, a decent respect to the opinions of mankind requires that they should declare the causes which impel them to the separation.
The second paragraph begins like this… We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal; that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable rights; that among these are Life, Liberty, and the pursuit of Happiness. Is it not refreshing to read the things our founding fathers wrote: they didn’t believe in evolution. I am not a Kennedy fan but John F. said something that I like. During a staff meeting in the oval office he said, “This is the greatest concentration of intellect in one room since Jefferson dined here alone.”
extra 2
  • REMEMBER THE SICK:  Bufford Burgess is in ICU at DGH. Reagan Bowling [Billy Ray and Jeans granddaughter] is in HH with kidney infection. Johnny Burnett’s sister is also in HH. Kane is not having a good week. Billy said they gave him a strong doze of chemo and he is having a hard time bouncing back. Gary Garner has not been able to eat but the headaches have not been as severe. He goes back next Tuesday. Now Larry is also sick, he has pneumonia. Had to go home and go to bed Thursday. Mavis Fitzgerald is also sick: they think it may be the shingles.
  • Joe David and his crew are headed to Rita’s in Coco Beach. I told Ty Thursday evening before they left for SIX FLAGS, “Son, don’t ask your daddy a lot of question. I want you to ask 49 and you count them so you’ll get it right.” Joe David interrupted, “49 will not get him to Birmingham.” Its funny how we reap what we sow.
  • I got more done yesterday than I dreamed was possible but now I am so tired I can barely move.
  • If anyone is headed for the beach, go by and get Gregg, he didn’t get enough.
  • I’m thinking NO DEACON’S meeting Sunday since it is a holiday weekend and I’m going to let the congregation decide Sunday morning if they want to come back and hear me preach. I love to preach; may the LORD’s will be done.
Leave a Reply

