Tripping On Greed

June 24, 2015


Celebrate Jesus.crimsonjpg

SCRIPTURE

So if we have enough food and clothing, let us be content. But people who long to be rich fall into temptation and are trapped by many foolish and harmful desires that plunge them into ruin and destruction.

~1 Timothy 6:8-9, NLT

QUOTE

The antidote for covetousness is contentment.  The greedy worship themselves: Only the contented person worships God.

~John MacAuthur

my thoughts red

King Rezin of Syria joined king Pekah of Israel in attacking Jerusalem. Ahaz king of Judah took all the gold and silver from the temple treasures and sent them to Tiglath-pileser, the ruthless barbarian who ruled the Assyrian Empire, asking him for help. Tiglath-pileser took the money and attacked Damascus. Rezin army was encamped around Jerusalem and thus he had no defense. The Assyrian monarch marched into Damascus and took it without  fight. He enslaved and deported the people and killed Rezin.

The moral of the story is simple: King Rezin should have been content with what he had and minded his own business. His reach for more cost him his kingdom and his life. Beware of greed, it is as treacherous at Tiglath-pileser. Greed will destroy you ultimately and you can take that to the bank, the bank of truth.

extra 2

  • Somebody stumped me this morning with a bible question: I did not know the answer and if I ever knew it, I have forgotten knowing it. When Daniel has his vision on the banks of the Tigris, there were three persons present counting Daniel. Can you name the other two? I could not; I got one, the angel Michael but the third was the pre-incarnate Christ. Scholars call this a Christophany, some call it an Epiphany, the manifestation of the divine Christ in some visible form.
  • One lady in our church has started a small group bible study in her home. They meet on Monday night and she had every member of her group in church last Sunday. If we had  three dozen more like her, we would fill up the building. Just thought you might want to hear some good news.
  • Heat or no heat, June is flying by, the 4th of July is a week from Saturday. One half of this year will be gone is one week.
  • One of the first things that happened yesterday morning was opening a card. At first, I did not recognize the name. It was from a woman in Athens who lives in a wheel chair and now she is taking care of her dad who is 83. He told her years ago to cancel the DIGEST but she said no, “I like it and I am not canceling.” I think he is probably a democrat. Any way, her dad has had a stroke and she is the primary care giver. I walked into their house about 2:30 and there were six fans going full speed. I said, “Do you not have A/C?” “Oh, we have it but daddy doesn’t want us to run it,” she said. I said, “Are you kidding me, why on earth would he not want you to use it?” She said, “We don’t need it, [pointing to the fans] we have plenty of air.” I said, “Yes, but it is all hot.” I stayed about 20 minutes: I could not wait to crawl back into Squeak. I told them, “I’m going to get you some help: tell me what you need.” She said, “We don’t need a thing.” I wish you could see what I saw and yet this woman with one leg and a bed fast dad said, “We don’t need a thing.” She has two brothers: I ask, “Do the boys know how sick their dad is?” “Yes,” she said, “I have told them everything.” She said it had been over 4 years since either had seen their daddy. I didn’t leave complaining; I left thanking. God has been good to Jack Bailey and he doesn’t deserve it but he is grateful for the mercy.

Keri and Kane

Leave a Reply

