An Honest Book

June 12, 2015


Celebrate Jesus.crimsonjpg

SCRIPTURE

“The LORD will return his blood on his own head, because he fell upon two men more righteous and better than he and killed them with the sword, while my father David did not know it: Abner the son of Ner, commander of the army of Israel, and Amasa the son of Jether, commander of the army of Judah.”
~1 Kings 2:32

QUOTE

It is not at all incredible, that a book which has been so long in the possession of mankind should contain many truths as yet undiscovered.
~ Bishop Butler
my thoughts red
The above verse is part of Solomon’s conversation with Benaiah who has just received orders to execute Joab. Solomon mentioned Joab’s treacherous and cold blooded murder of two good men and one was his first cousin. I don’t disagree with Solomon, I have no doubt that Abner and Amasa were better men than Joab. My problem is that I think they were better men than David. I think Jonathan and Uriah were better men than David. Matter of fact, the more I read through the O.T. the less I think of David. Promises came easy to David but keeping them was a different matter. David is without a doubt one of the most gifted humans in history but he lacked integrity. He lied, murdered, cheated, manipulated people to get what he wanted and broke up two marriages.
You may or may not be surprised to know that I think even less of Bathsheba {Daughter of wealth or abundance}. She was the granddaughter of Ahitophel, one of David’s advisors who joined Absalom in his rebellion. Bathsheba was capable, ambitious, gifted, clever,  and unscrupulous. I do not have a single doubt that she stripped with the intention of David seeing her. She knew what time of day he took his walk. I guarantee you, she was three steps ahead of him. She wanted to get pregnant by him and she wanted her son to be king and she very much wanted to be queen mother. She was a political animal, more manipulative than David himself.
What do I think of Uriah? I think he was a man of honor, nobility, integrity, courage and loyal to a fault which makes him a much better man than David. How do I explain David’s success, his beautiful Psalms, his orthodox theology, his ability to lead? GRACE! David is the bible poster boy for GRACE. 
extra 2
  • Another absolutely wonderful day of VBS. I cannot praise the LORD enough. I am thankful to be a part of such a noble enterprise. Little Ceasar’s Pizza today.
  • Betty Harpe had surgery Wednesday at Princeton and was intending to come home last night. Surgery went well.
  • Carmen Livingston has been in ICU at DGH all week but he is better.
Leave a Reply

