Examine Yourself

June 1, 2015


SCRIPTURE

Examine yourselves to see if your faith is genuine. Test yourselves. Surely you know that Jesus Christ is among you; if not, you have failed the test of genuine faith.
~2 Corinthians 13:5, NLT

QUOTE

“Open confession is good for the soul.”
~Scottish Proverb
confession
I try to prepare myself mentally and spiritually before I preach. I know the one thing that should be dominate is humility and believe it or not, I long to be gentile. [You laugh here] As I tried to prepare for last night, I was convicted about my attitude. When I asked the congregation to follow the choirs lead, they rebelled. This is not a figment of my imagination, the choir saw the same thing I did: instead of clapping, we clammed up and folded our arms. If was as if you were saying, “I’m not clapping and you can’t make me.”
Jeff made a good point in our LCBS class: sometimes people are watching us and we aren’t aware that their focus is on us. Last night we sang, “LORD, I lift your name on high, LORD, I love to sing your praises.” We sometimes sing things we don’t mean. If a lost person was happened to be focused on you yesterday morning, do you think they saw your love and enthusiasm for Jesus? Personally, as a whole, I think we were a bad advertisement. I think rebellion and self-will is what they saw, not excitement in praising Jesus. I’m not sure the six straight bible study lessons on  giving preference to others took.
That said, “I have no right to talk down to you. I was like Moses at the Rock, a little angry over the rebellion I saw.” Moses was wrong and so was I. Whereas I sang my heart out and clapped until my hands were red, it is very possible that lost folks saw my pride and arrogance which is worse than your lack of enthusiasm.
It reminds me of a story. Years ago, Hugh Fitzgerald addressed the entire congregation about finding a music director. Hugh was very direct. After the service, I said, “Hugh, you don’t talk to people in that way.” Without a moments hesitation, Hugh said, “Have you heard yourself lately.”
extra 2
  • Mandy needs one more person for skits. It can be adult or young person. It is a 30 minute assignment [8:30 am until 9:00]
  • GOLDEN GIRLS is on for Saturday morning: 9:30 at CB in Hartselle.
  • No women responded but we have a group of men going to Montgomery. We are leaving from the church parking lot at 11:00 and will stop for lunch at Gardendale. Our ETA back to Danville is 8:00-9:00 pm. If you want to go, let me know ASAP.
  • We have two wedding Saturday evening: Jarod’s is at 4:00 pm at Enon and Hunter’s is at 6:00 but I don’t know the location. Also, Jake and his siblings are giving Terry and Gerri a 50th wedding anniversary. A 50th wedding anniversary is a big deal and I have already apologized to Gerri for not being able to attend. There are a lot of choices Saturday, you go where you feel the LORD is leading.
  • LORD willing, we are cleaning out the Bus Barn today. We have some birds who have made it their home.
  • We are doing a VBS visitation next Sunday evening at 5:00. We are going to do a blitz and be back at 6:00 for Praise and Reports. No sermon, I promise. We may have pizza though.
  • Tracey, Kelvin and Kerri are at Mayo in Jacksonville, Florida. The YOUTH are in sunny L.A. under the direction of Dr. G. Ted Turrentine.
  • Josie studies the clouds formations and she has influenced her cousin Chloe. Saturday, we were driving to Hartselle and Chloe said, “I see a dinosaur.” June said, “Where?” And Chloe pointed to a cloud formation.

state wide rally

Leave a Reply

