Leadership, Who Needs It?

May 22, 2015


Celebrate Jesus.crimsonjpg

SCIPTURE

But among you it will be different. Whoever wants to be a leader among you must be your servant.
~Matthew 20:26, NLT

QUOTE

Anyone can follow a path; only a leader can blaze one.
~John Maxwell
my thoughts red
I’ve been reading through Nehemiah, Ezra and I Samuel and the subject of leadership keeps coming to the surface. Leadership is a big deal because everyone needs a leader. If you are a leader, a lot of people depend on you. As others depend on you, who should you be depending on? The answer starts with a J and ends with an S and has five letters.
Throughout the period of the Judges, the emphasis is on leaders. When the Israelites had good leaders, they did well, when they didn’t, they got enslaved to foreigner’s. In the period of the kings, the Israelites did good when they had good leadership and suffered when they did not. No group or organization will ever rise above the level of its leaders. Would the Israelites have made it out of Egypt without the leadership of Moses? Would the Jews have been successful in rebuilding the Temple without Zerubbabel? Would they have finished the wall in 52 days without Nehemiah? Leadership is a big deal!
I think my readers will agree that America is suffering from a leadership crisis: we are in desperate need of a good leader. The question is: do we have enough sense to recognize and vote for a good leader if one were to appear? I’m not questioning Obama’s ability to lead, I am questioning the direction in which he is leading. The difference between a good and bad leader is character and direction. Hitler was a gifted leader but not a good leader. We need a good leader.
state wide rally
  • The schedule this Sunday will be light due to the Holiday weekend. We will have you some donuts and biscuits and we will have LIFE CHANGING BIBLE STUDY but no Deacon’s meeting or PM service. We are planning a patriotic service for Sunday morning. We have video that is very good and Wendy Greenhaw is coming to sing the National Anthem and our special music.
  • It is not too late to send me pictures of your family members who served in the armed forces. I can work on it here at home. We have about 25 so for but I would like more.
  • MEMORIAL DAY EVE worship celebration this Sunday at 10:15 with special guest Wendy Greenhaw and Ronald Reagan [via video]. I think you will love the service. We will honor the fallen and all those who served.
  • It got pretty chilly last night: Hope said it was Black Bird Winter. I said, “I think you mean ‘Black Berry.'” She said, “Black Berry, Raspberry, Blueberry, who cares, its cold.” That team we played had some obnoxious fans. I accused them of furnishing one of the umps. Willard chewed me out. I felt like Hugh had been reincarnated. He said, “You sit down and hush.” I said, “I kidding with them Willard, they know it” He said, “The umpire may not know it and we don’t want to win this game. The winner has to stay and play another game. Do you want to be here until 10:30?” I sat down and almost hushed. Willard is a true friend, he tells me all the time that I can’t sing.
  • May 29 Senior Adult Cook Out. BBQ chicken and ribs.
  • June 6…Rally for Biblical Marriage in Montgomery. I hope to carry the van. I encourage every believer to take a stand before it’s too late.
  • June 8-12…VBS and VBX
VBS-VBX JUNE 8-12

VBS-VBX JUNE 8-12

Collage9

Leave a Reply

