Thinking Like Jesus

April 22, 2015


Celebrate Jesus.crimsonjpg

SCRIPTURE

 Let the same mind be in you that was in Christ Jesus.

~Philippians 2:5, NRSV

QUOTE

We cannot imitate deity.

~T.W. Hunt

MY THOUGHTS

I have read Thomas A. Kempis THE IMITATION OF CHRIST and I highly recommend it. Yet there is something we must understand, we humans cannot imitate deity. We are immortal because of Christ death for us on the cross and His gift of everlasting life but we are not eternal beings. We had a beginning: Jesus is the Great I AM. He has no beginning or end. He is, He was, He has always been and He will always be.

Once we are converted to faith in Christ, we can grow daily and incrementally toward His likeness even to the point to thinking the way Jesus thinks. How did Jesus think? Paul tells us in Philippians chapter two: Jesus did not think selfishly. He did not think condescendly [although He was exceedingly better than the best of us]. He did not think about His own personal interest, what was best for Him. We can sum up Jesus thinking in one word, it the same word we use for deacon. Jesus thought like a servant…”What needs to be done here? What do I need to do?”

You and I are never going to be Jesus. In heaven there will be one Jesus and He will have no clones but you can grow spiritually until you think like Him. What do you need to do in regards to Vacation Bible School? What should you do for your neighbor? What should you do this Sunday to render yourself a servant to the body of Christ? What should you do for families in Guatemala who live on dirt floors and have corn stalks for walls? What should you do about helping high school seniors and college students go on mission to Guatemala? How do you think? Do you think mostly about helping yourself or do you think like Jesus by thinking of others.

TODAY WE PRAY FOR THE WORLD

 

2015 Progress toward Engaging – Page Layout

THE GATHERING TONIGHT

Just two more night of AWANA and Wednesday night suppers…my, my how the year has zoomed by…Supper at 5:30, AWANA at 6:15 and the Gathering at 6:30. We are in the book of James. Tonight message is HOW TO TURN TRIALS INTO TRIUMP.

PRAISE THE LORD!

Keri is going to Mayo clinic in Jacksonville, Florida. Praise the Lord for Dr. Earl getting her accepted. They are waiting on call…should come within the next week.

Keri and Kane

DHS GIRLS WIN THRILLER IN THE TOP OF THE 8TH

Brittany Linderman lead off the 8th with a triple to right center. She belly slid head first in to third. The ball beat her to the bag but it took a short hop and went past third. Our 3rd base coach got aggressive and sent her home a hard hit grounder to short but the throw was off target and Brittany scored the winning run. I was hoping to get to see the boys play baseball but they finished before I got back in the go. The game last night was my first in over a month.

PROGRESS REPORT

First full day yesterday, no naps, no rest times. Over 6,000 steps and I didn’t do any intentional walking. Back is a little tight and right knee still giving me problems. I am hoping {praying} to be able to travel to Cherokee, Alabama for Hollis Jarnigan’s Celebration of Life Service. June is talking off to drive me and I hope to preach tonight at DBC. I think Friday is my last day of steroids. I will be thrilled if the LORD allows me to carry out my plans for the day.

Leave a Reply

