THE PROCESS

April 17, 2015


Celebrate Jesus.crimsonjpg

SCRIPTURE

Then the way you live will always honor and please the Lord, and your lives will produce every kind of good fruit. All the while, you will grow as you learn to know God better and better.

Colossians 1:10, NLT

QUOTE

Those who have been justified are now being sanctified; those who have no experience of present sanctification have no reason to suppose they have been justified.

~F.F. Bruce

my thoughts red

We live in a culture that demands instant coffee, instant potatoes, one hour cleaning and fast food restaurants. We want what we want and we want it now! We get frustrated, annoyed and even angry when people hinder or progress. Road rage has become a problem; just last month, a man was killed in Roxbury, Massachusetts. He was shot to death by an angry motorist. Impatience seems to be the norm of the day but it is uncharacteristic with Jesus who never got in a hurry or got angry with another person for interrupting.

In the spiritual world there is no such thing as instant sanctification. Spiritual maturity is a process, one that moves at a snails pace at times. We grow in grace incrementally a step at a time. It’s like wine; first the bloom, then the fruit, then the harvest and then crushing, then aging and then the wine. Making wine takes time; it is a process that cannot be rushed.

I can understand if you are feeling frustrated, sometimes the grape stays green for a long time and you can use green grapes, they make a bitter juice. I was 40 years old before I began to make in real progress and 25 years later I am still in the crushing stage. I am thankful that many believers are not as slow to mature. When I got down, I knew it was a test and I’m going to tell folks, I struggled. There were a couple of days when I got depressed but I never forgot Philippians 2:13, For it is God who is at work in you, both to will and to work for His good pleasure. It is God’s will for me to be conformed to the image of Christ and recent events have¬†reminded me how far I have to go.

extra 2

  • TODAY WE PRAY FOR FAMILY.
  • The Senior Adult Fish Fry was canceled and I forgot to do a phone message last night but pass the word. Our next meeting is May 29 and it will be a BBQ.
  • No Deacon’s meeting this Sunday. LCBS at 9:15 and Worship at 10:15 and 6:00.

Keri and Kane

Leave a Reply

