Our High Priest

April 11, 2015


Celebrate Jesus.crimsonjpg

SCRIPTURE

Therefore He is able, once and forever, to save those who come to God through him. He lives forever to intercede with God on their behalf.

~Hebrews 7:25, NLT

QUOTE

Faith in a prayer-hearing God will make a prayer-loving Christian.

~Andrew Murray

my thoughts red

There are two verses in the bible that stagger my imagination: the first is Psalm 139:17, How precious it is, Lord, to realize that you are thinking about me constantly! I can’t even count how many times a day your thoughts turn toward me.” The second is Job 7:17 where Job says, What are people, that You should make so much of us, that you should think about us so often.”  Just the thought of Jesus thinking about me blows my mind.

It is always nice to know that someone is thinking about you. It is especially comforting when you’re confined to quarters and unable to go. The two verses above remind me that our Creator and Redeemer has us in His thoughts.  Hebrews 7:25…Therefore He is able, once and forever, to save those who come to God through him. He lives forever to intercede with God on their behalf. and Romans 8:34…remind us that Christ Jesus died for us and was raised to life for us, and he is sitting in the place of honor at God’s right hand, pleading for us. Every time I climb the platform to enter the pulpit, it encourages me to know Jesus is praying for me. Seriously, what can be more encouraging than to have Jesus interceding for you.

For the record, there are some among us, I refer to them as the halos, who think prayer depends on our holiness but in reality, our privilege to pray depends on Christ holiness. A part from His atoning work, we would have no right to pray. As the Author and Finisher of our faith, Christ draws us to prayer in unison with Him and the Holy Spirit. We are united with Christ in His life, death, burial, resurrection and intercession.

extra 2

  • Today we pray for FAMILY.
  • GOLDEN GIRLS this morning at Cracker Barrel at 9:30.
  • No Deacon’s meeting Sunday…LCBS at 9:15 and worship at 10:15 and 6:00. Sunday morning we will celebrate Communion and Sunday night we will Commission Haley Rae Garnett.
  • I’m still struggling to sit upright at my desk. I can’t walk without pain either but I do see some slight improvement and I am thankful. I plan {God willing} to eat breakfast with our Golden Girls and then lead the Communion Service on Sunday morning. One thing is certain: God can stop me in my tracks anything He wants to. I go back to Dr. Black Monday evening. I think my next step is an MRI but I am not sure.

 

One Response to “Our High Priest”


  1. Jack, you are right to be amazed that Jesus thinks about us! It’s pretty amazing. In the busyness and laziness of most days, it’s tough to remember to think of folks and what the are doing. But He is never lazy or too busy of course! So I’m glad you know that He is thinking about you as you go through this episode of pain.

    I have been thinking about you too! Since I had my back injury and surgery almost 25 years ago now, I always feel for folks when they have an issue with their back. I don’t think you can fully realize what that feels like until it happens to you! But I know just how painful it really is and how difficult it is to get some relief. So I am asking for you that you get to the root of the problem soon and finally get some real relief! Get well soon!

    Ken

Leave a Reply

