The Last Resort For The World

April 8, 2015


Celebrate Jesus.crimsonjpg

SCRIPTURE

It is good for me that I was afflicted, That I may learn Your statutes.

~Psalm 119:71

QUOTE

It was only when I lay there on the rotting prison straw that I sensed within myself the first stirring of good…so bless you, prison, for having been in my life.

~Alexander Solzhenitsyn’s 

my thoughts red

In Charles Swindoll’s book Encourage Me, he tells the story of a 1968 commercial airliner landing on its belly in New York City. The landing gear malfunctioned and they had to land without wheels on a run way coated with foam. Everyone survived but prior to landing there was some tension. Once the flight attendants had everyone buckled in their seats with head between knees the Captain came over the intercom with this message….We are beginning our final descent. At this moment, in accordance with International Aviation Codes established in Geneva, it is my obligation to inform you that if you believe in God you should commence prayer. I had never heard of this pray code, had you?

The amazing thing about this incident is no one on board, other than the Pilot and Co-pilot knew anything about the Geneva prayer code. It was there all the time but it took a crisis to bring it out.

Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn was once acclaimed the greatest Russian author since Tolstoy. He was a not only a gifted writer, he was very outspoken about the evils of communism and for that he was sentenced to 8 years in the labor camps [prisons]. It was in one of these prisons that he meet Dr. Boris Kornfield, a Jew who had converted to Christianity. Although the Russians needed doctors, they did not look favorably on Kornfield sharing his faith daily. On Kornfield’s last night on earth, he sat by the bunk of Aleksandr Solzhenitysn and shared his faith in Christ with the Russian novelist. Later that same night Boris Kornfield was beaten to death with a mallet. Some think he was murdered by prison guards and others think inmates.

In the late 50’s Solzhenitsyn was freed from prison and he lived the last three decades of his life in freedom. I don’t think Solzhenitsyn had any desire to go back to prison but he did realize his prison suffering forged his character and his faith.

After the crisis, whatever it may be, when we are sufficiently crushed: Christ steps out of the shadows into the light and begins to comfort and to teach. Pride is our enemy and humiliation becomes our friend because it makes us teachable. It reminds me of a little poem I heard when I was a child…

I walked a mile with pleasure, she chatted all the way

But I was none the wiser for what she had to say.

I walked a mile with sorrow and never a word said she,

But Oh the things that I did learn with sorrow walked with me.

Extra__logo-1_0

  • Today we pray for the WORLD, not the system but the people who need Christ.
  • Regular schedule tonight….supper at 5:30, AWANA at 6:15 and the GATHERING at 6:30. I don’t know if I will get to attend or not; it depends.
  • GOLDEN GIRLS is on for Saturday.

Keri and Kane

Leave a Reply

