Though Satan Should Buffet

March 2, 2015


Celebrate Jesus.crimsonjpg

SCRIPTURE

For you know that God paid a ransom to save you from the empty life you inherited from your ancestors. And it was not paid with mere gold or silver, which lose their value.  It was the precious blood of Christ, the sinless, spotless Lamb of God.

~I Peter 1:18-19, NLT

QUOTE

If you are a Christian, you are at war. But our approach to spiritual warfare usually falls into one of two extremes – either we place an undue emphasis on Satan and his powers or we completely ignore the existence of a personal enemy.

~Chip Ingram

my thoughts red

I do agree with Chip Ingram; many Christians do err in giving Satan too much credit. We do not need to glorify a devil but at the same time he does accuse, slander and tempt us. Josh and Kevin’s great uncle, Ken Jacobs, sang IT IS WELL WITH MY SOUL in last night’s service and the words of the second verse spoke to my heart…

Though Satan should buffet, though trials should come,
Let this blest assurance control,
That Christ hath regarded my helpless estate,
And hath shed His own blood for my soul. 

The word buffet can refer to food but originally it was a blow with the hand to the face, something that strikes with telling force, like a slap. During His trial, Jesus was slapped by both the priest and the soldiers. Satan likes to harass believers. He is especially good at casting doubt and promoting fear. He tempted Jesus in the wilderness and he slandered God in the Garden of Eden. Anyone who has the nerve to slander God and tempt Jesus is certainly not going to hesitate to buffet you and I.

For the first time in weeks, I drove home rejoicing last night for I know that Christ has regarded my helpless estate and has shed His own precious blood for my wretched soul. I don’t know whether God spoke through the sermon or not but I know he spoke through the song because he spoke to me. The devil has been giving me fits lately. I think I stirred him up with a Wednesday night sermon a month or so ago. I know one thing: God gave me some victory and peace last night and I am thankful.

Revival Strip

  • There is a lot more I would like to say about the subject above, maybe I can do a part 2 tomorrow. My blogs are like my sermons, the briefer the better.
  • TODAY we PRAY for Ministers and Missionaries. I feel like someone prayed for me yesterday. I don’t know who to thank but if you prayed for me yesterday, the LORD heard your prayer. Thank YOU!
  • I was uplifted by the Deacon and Wives prayer meeting. I love this once a month meeting. It’s a great idea and I am glad that Mandy thought of it. Remember, next Sunday we have to spring up and it will not be easy for this old timer.
  • We got off to a good start in the WINTER BIBLE STUDY. The Spirit was moving and I was thrilled and thankful. I do hope that we don’t get snowed or iced out on Wednesday night like last year. I am praying that we don’t miss three weeks in a row at DBC. I enjoyed the warm rain last night.
Collage9
One Response to “Though Satan Should Buffet”

  1. Keith Blackwood Says:

    The song (It Is Well With My Soul)
    Is one of my favorites! It was written by a man who has sufferd a great deal of personal tragedy. His name was Heratio Spafford. Not sure of the spelling!

Leave a Reply

