The Power Of A Testimony

February 20, 2015


Celebrate Jesus.crimsonjpg

SCRIPTURE

“I don’t know whether he is a sinner,” the man replied. “But I know this: I was blind, and now I can see!”

~John 9:25, NLT

QUOTE

A Christian with a testimony is never at the mercy of an atheist with an argument.

~Adrian Rogers

my thoughts red

One of the funniest stories in the bible is in John 9 where Jesus heals the man born blind. The Pharisees are having a holy fit because Jesus performed the miracle on the Sabbath. The blind man who can now see because of Jesus is elated and telling everyone about his miracle. The Pharisees were playing 20 questions: Who healed you? Where is He now? This man who opened your eyes, who do you think He was? Is this your son? Was He born blind? If he was born blind, how is it that he can now see? So they tell this excited man who has been given his sight…”Give glory to God by telling the truth because we know this man Jesus is a sinner.

The blind said, “I don’t know that He is a sinner but I do know that I was blind and now I see.” Again they said, “How did He do it?” The man born blind said, “Don’t you folks listen, I have already told you once, why do you want to hear it again? Are you interested in becoming His disciples.” {I wish I could have been there} The Pharisees explode and began cursing the man, “We are disciples of Moses. We know God spoke to Moses but we don’t know anything about this man.” The man born blind said, “That is really strange, this man healed me of my blindness which is something that has never been done and you guys don’t know anything about Him!

How is it that the Jewish religious establishment never made one attempt to get to Jesus or the facts surrounding His life. He was fulfilling every O.T. Prophecy concerning the Messiah and they did not take the time to investigate. With just a little effort they could have discovered that He was born in Bethlehem, not Nazareth. There are many other things they could have learned had they had a burning desire to know the truth. Think about it: The Pharisees were smitten with the three “I”s.

  1. IGNORANCE: No excuse for them not to get to know all they could about Jesus. They made the gaff of the ages and it was all their fault. Jesus never hid the facts surrounding His life. They did not even ask where He was born.
  2. INDIFFERENCE: They didn’t ask because they didn’t care about Jesus, the truth or the man born blind. They only cared about themselves.
  3. INSECURITY: They were afraid of the truth. Afraid of losing their position; their prestige.

Revival Strip

  • Today we pray for FAMILIES.
  • If all continues to go well, Kane will get to come home March 8th. He is in good spirits. I am really impressed with Kane’s attitude.
  • They are predicting snow for Memphis tomorrow: Pray for Craig to have a safe trip up. It is a pretty tough trip and a lot of traffic in Memphis. St. Jude’s and the RONALD MCDONALD house are gated and I mean thick heavy gates and they are manned by armed security guards. It is not like going to Huntsville or Birmingham. The Ronald McDonald House is awesome.
  • When I got home last night a little after 8:00, it was 21 degrees. It is cold! I would not mind seeing some rain because it will have to warm up to rain.
Leave a Reply

