Courage

February 13, 2015


Celebrate Jesus.crimsonjpg

SCRIPTURE

Be on guard. Stand firm in the faith. Be courageous. Be strong.

~I Corinthians 16:13, NLT

QUOTE

The fear of the Lord tends to take away all other fears…This is the secret of Christian courage and boldness.

~Sinclair B. Lewis

my thoughts red

Our English word ‘Courage’ is a combination of French and Latin. ‘Cor’ is French for heart or center and ‘rage’ is Latin for temper or passion. A courageous person is one who has a strong center, a heart inflamed with the ability to do something that is difficult or dangerous. It took courage for Martin Luther to take a stand against the abuses of the Catholic Church. It took courage for William Wilberforce to stand against the overwhelming odds in the House of Commons. It took courage for Patrick  Henry to defy British tyranny. It took courage for George Washington to take command of an army made up of militia and volunteers knowing  he was going against the greatest military force on the planet.

To act with courage is to act out of the ordinary. Our default setting is on self-preservation and personal security. By nature we are afraid to stand out or even stand up. We want to blend in, go unnoticed if possible.

Just something to think about: have you ever heard of a gay Muslim? How is it that the Muslims can be anti-gay, even gay-haters and it not upset Obama, the media or Hollywood? Yet if a Christian quotes a scripture verse that denounces homosexuality, it is a hate crime. The gays better enjoy their few years of liberty because when Islam takes over, they will be executed. I for one, hope that it doesn’t come to that but people like Obama had better get their head screwed on because Islam has zero tolerance for gays.

Revival Strip

  • Today post is dedicated to Bill Wood. My hate is off to Bill and all those who have served in the Military. Bill is a veteran of Viet Nam.
  • Today we pray for FAMILY.
  • Today is my landlord, neighbor and good friend Ray Edward’s 70 birthday.
  • Dr. Keith says I have to lose weight and she told me to get a Garmin step counter which I have had for the last three days. I did over 15,000 steps yesterday but I didn’t make 10,000 yesterday and most due to the weather. You will know in a few weeks if it works. Nothing else has. I am addicted to food, especially sweets and I also love tators and bread.
  • I know that it is no excuse but I know just enough about modern technology to be dangerous to myself and others.
  • The rest of February we will be raising money to build houses in Guatemala. We have $650 to kick it off this Sunday. We are building them in Memory of Kenny Holladay.

a kenny house project

  • We will not be able to go to Memphis this week or the first park of next. I am shooting for February 20 but we do have the blood drive this Sunday. Hurricane KaTrina did all the work and she is to be commended. I want you to brag on her if you see her. You will get a free ORANGE raising Kane T-shirt if you donate blood. That is, the first 70 who donate. I will get them to give you a rain check if you don’t get one.

raising cane

Leave a Reply

