Rejoice In The LORD Always

January 28, 2015


Celebrate Jesus.crimsonjpg

SCRIPTURE

 Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, Rejoice.

~Philippians 4:4, NRSV

QUOTE

When you cannot rejoice in feelings, circumstances or conditions, rejoice in the Lord.

~A. B. Simpson

my thoughts red

I will be preaching from this verse tonight but wanted to go ahead and share this thought in case. When Paul exhorts the Philippians to “Rejoice always,” he is writing from a prison cell in Rome and is awaiting trial under Nero who was a pedophile and a maniac. I know Nero was paranoid and he may also have been schizophrenic. How in the world could Paul rejoice under such horrible conditions?

Paul, like Jesus, had the ability to see through the sorrow. The writer of Hebrews says Jesus was willing to die a shameful death on the cross because He saw beyond the shame and suffering to the joy He knew was waiting. I think this same principle is what enables moms to have such a great attitude during the pain of child birth. They know that joy awaits them after the baby is born.

We all rejoice when things are going great but this will not impress anyone. If you rejoice when things are going bad, you will get people’s attention. Some one told me the Alabama fans walked out of the Sugar bowl in absolute silence. They said, “It was not a funeral, we all marched out and no one said a word.” I was at the Ole Miss game where we got beat in the last quarter. I was not rejoicing either but one of our group was an exception. First he said, “Guys, lets just hang around and we are going to see history. They will ride the goal post down.” Two unbelievers scoffed, “We are not staying, who cares what they do to the goal post.” I wanted to stay but when I saw our driver leaving with the keys I followed. My friend on the way out engaged the Ole Miss fans…”Congratulations” he said to them. “You all have a good team and you deserved to win.” One of the group rebuked him for being so cordial. I bet he made a good impression on the Ole Miss fans. I know he impressed me. I didn’t congratulate anyone, I just kept walking.

Anyone can celebrate a victory but it takes someone special to celebrate in the midst of defeat. Paul said, “Rejoice always.”

Revival Strip

  • Today we pray for the WORLD.
  • Joe David was in Memphis yesterday, I posted his report on Twitter earlier. He is in New Orleans today. He had a Seminary class. Pray for him to have traveling mercy. 
  • Kenny was awake yesterday morning but the nurse was changing his port and fixing his meds. I went back yesterday evening and he was sound a sleep.
  • Seth works in Atlanta but they may get sent North due to snow storm.
  • The January 21 Blog had 328 hits. Our average is around 100. Don’t understand what happened. If you have insight: I am interested.
  • Regular schedule tonight: Supper at 5:30, AWANA at 6:15 and the GATHERING at 6:30.
  • REVIVAL this Sunday with Phil and Teresa Glisson of Memphis, Tn. It will be a one day meeting but God can do a lot in day. Matter of fact, God doesn’t need an entire day.  I did a lot of thinking about my insignificance today and I am aware that my influence is very limited. I can’t change the way folks feel about the NFL. In my opinion it is antichrist and is grossly lacking in integrity. I know, people don’t care about those things and they will watch anyway. I have no power to chance the way they think and I cannot put a desire in their heart to attend the Revival Services but I can pray for God to do it and I will. I was reading in Hebrews 12 yesterday when verse 25 jumped out at me, “Be careful that you do not refuse to listen to the One who is speaking. For if the people of Israel did not escape when they refused to listen to Moses, the earthly messenger, we will certainly not escape if we reject the One who speaks to us from heaven! 
  • Senior Adult luncheon on Friday at 11:30 am in the parlor. We need a good turn out!
  • Baptism Sunday morning.
Teresa Glisson and Scotty

Teresa Glisson and Scotty

Leave a Reply

